I don't even want you gone for a day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
July 12th 2009
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright, the sadness is officially setting in. My sister, being completely dramatic (I don't know if we're really related:P) has kept saying "this is our last picture for a year! this is our last hug!", etc, etc. Amelia told me today she doesn't want me gone for a year, that she doesn't even want me gone for a day and that when we come back from China we have to move in next door so she can spend the night with us whenever she wants. I told her I have to give her 365 days worth of kisses, and she agreed.

We just spent Thursday-Saturday evening in Corvallis, Oregon. It was only our home for slightly over a year, but somehow it felt like ages. We made some amazing friends there, and I'm very glad we've been able to keep in touch and visit multiple times over the past year. We got to Chelsea and Peter's around 6pm on Thursday, just in time to help prepare delicious vegetarian & chicken enchiladas(more on the vegetarian thing in a later entry- I've converted), drink wine and talk about our upcoming adventures in life. While we prepare for China, Chelsea & Peter are preparing to move across the country to Albany, NY for Chelsea to start grad school. Friday was spent lounging around with Chelsea, getting Coffee Culture (only the best), eating at a delicious place called Cafe Yumm and being super productive preparing for their garage sale and general moving. After the rest of the poor working fools were off, Kirsten, Ata and Jenny W joined us for dinner at an Italian place in Albany and a rousing game of mini-golf (I didn't win, although I'd like to pretend), and an evening of enjoying more wine, beer, conversation and LAUGHTER. For those of you who don't know, I used to work with Chelsea, Jenny and Kirsten at CARDV. 😊 Today we had an awesome garage sale- Chelsea & Peter sold almost everything just today, and they're still doing it tomorrow! The rest of the group came over to hang out while we were (wo)manning the garage sale to have more laughter and convo.

This evening (Saturday) we headed back up to Portland for one more night and day with the Stabler fam. It's really hard to believe that I'm saying goodbye to people for at least a year. I've done a good job with my emotions so far, but I know the tears will come streaming tomorrow when I hug the little ones.

Advertisement



12th July 2009

totally understood
I totally understand the emotions that are pouring out of all of us right now...and we've been there before with other family members and will be there again at some other point in life...it's never easy, but we all do come out as a stronger unit for having lived thru these adventures! The tears...all part of it and unfortunately we seem to suffer more from them than some other families we know...they definitely will come at times when we don't want them to, but that's all part of our loving, caring family! Definitely feelings and words to be kept close to your heart and sustain you as you pursue your newest adventure!

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb