My Return to the Pacific Northwest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
December 18th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Talk about the longest day of my life. I got into Seattle today at 12:45 pm. I've returned to the west coast for a Summer Staff reunion, that is to take place at the camp. Chris picked me up and we toured Gig Harbor (where he lives) and ate at a good teriyaki place. The homemade dressing tasted just like Zax's sauce from Zaxby's, if anyone knows that amazing restaurant. Then, after playing some Call of Duty, we went to a Brandon Heath and Phil Wickham concert, which was one of the best shows I've been too. I loved how they sang Christmas music at the end.

Right after the concert we drove to Portland, with two other summer staff friends who we had met up with at the concert; it took a while to get there because of the weather, but it cleared up some as we got closer. WE finally got to Kelsey's house (another summer staff friends, girls are staying at her place before the renunion, and then the reunion got canceled because of the weather) at 1:30 am, and me and Chris stayed at a friend of a friends place, so I didn't get to bed until 2:30. We woke up at 10:30 and met Drew Harrison at Pioneer Square in downtown Portland. It's so cold, but it didn't rain or snow. WE took the max into town, which is like a cross between a subway system and a trolley. It was free too, within a certain area. We ate lunch at Rock-bottom's, which was just like a microbrewery grill place. We went to the waterfront after eating and it was cold so we walked through pioneer place, a pretty cool mall. We even took a family photo on Santa's chair, haha. I feel like no one here uses central heat, because the bedrooms are all freezing. Anyway, we drove to Pittock Mansion, which overlooks all of Portland, and we took some really funn pictures. It was gorgeous because there was so much snow; I loved it. Finally, we went to Powell's bookstore, this awesome multistory building. All the rooms are color-coded and its very confusing sometimes to find a genre of book.

Now were back at Kelsey's house, we stopped by Safeway and now we're cooking dinner. Apparently Safeway is just like Food Lion. I think we're going to play Apples to Apples or Cranium. I even think Matt Lynch is coming over. It should be a good night. Oh, I loved Gig Harbor; it's a great little harbor community, not to big, not to small. I think I could live there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb