Olfactory


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've always appreciated the smell of the forest, or after it rains, but I didn't realized until I went to an extremely polluted city that OREGON SMELLS AMAZING. Everywhere smells good, like plants and trees. There were so many times in Cairo that I would have paid a lot just for a breath of fresh air. That's one good thing about the school (AUC) being in the middle of the desert- we don't get the polluted air unless it blows in from downtown. Otherwise the sky above is blue, and you can see in the distance the purpleish-grey haze of pollution hanging over downtown.

I went to visit Grandma in the hospital, and the smell was what hit me first. I know that it's very cliche to say that one hates the smell of hospitals, but I suppose it's cliche because it's true for most people. That said, I hate the smell of hospitals. It smells like disinfectant, and sickness, and something else- some soft, sickly smell that's totally unique of hospitals. It instantly reminds me of times when I've been in there, or have visited other people in there. St. Vincent's, where my grandma is at, has seen a lot of our family.

It's heartwrenching to see someone I love that is so strong and not more than a month ago was still studying Spanish and taking walks everyday now so weak and helpless. I too am helpless in that I can't fix it. But my presence there did seem to do some good. When I arrived at 2pm she hadn't yet talked or eaten all day, and she talked a little to me, and smiled, and drank some juice. I read Harry Potter to her since she stopped reading a couple of weeks ago, and when she fell asleep read my book until she woke up again and then I would read some more.

It was a shock to be home, and with so little time to adjust to the fact that I was going home. Of all the unexpected things I expected of my study abroad experience, this wasn't in the plan. But then again, it seem like it is the unexpected, what's not in the plan, that truly shapes our lives. I would give so much not to be coming home for this reason, although it's great to see my parents and friends and my dog.

You, you can really tell Northwest people apart, or at least I can. When we were getting on the plane during my connecting flight in Frankfurt, I saw a couple wearing Chacos and an Ex Officio Drifly Lite shirt, and carrying an Eagle Creek back pack, and knew that they were headed home to Portland as well. When I landed I saw Merrell sneakers, Salomon Tech Amphibians, and an REI running shirt, and it made me happy. Then I realized that I needed to get out of REI more.

Advertisement



2nd October 2008

Life...
"...is what happens when you're busy making other Plans!", John Lennon. Thanks for sharing. All the best, U.M.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb