My Stuff


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, so this weekend I moved all of my stuff from storage in Seattle to storage in Portland. I'm getting good at loading my stuff from one box, into another box/trailer moving it and then putting it back in a 3rd box. I have to say that loading the trailer this time was a lot less work than the last time. I guess that is the practice of the jigsaw puzzle. Of course fitting it all into storage was another good game of tetris. It seems that the dimensions are always just a few inches shorter than I need. My 5x5 unit, isn't quite 5' in the one dimension that would be most useful. I'm sure there are lots of ways to skin a cat and I'm finding lots of them as I try and repack my stuff into storage. Whenever the job is finished I'm always amazed that everything managed to fit, and that there is actually room for a few additional items.

Which brings up the next quirk. As I'm trying to fit chairs and china cabinets and curio cabinets into storage I'm constantly wondering how many times I decide to do this before I just decide to sell it all. Getting closer each time. But I'm also amazed at the stuff I've kept. Well not as amazed and confused as the people helping load/unload. There are always comments about the broom and bean bag chair and of course the toilet plunger. I know, why in the hell would I keep a toilet plunger and move it around the country. Very simple. It didn't sell in the garage sale (go figure) and you need one, and there is always room for it. It isn't like I wouldn't throw that stuff out the minute it didn't fit. But there is always room for the little crap. "Or hey, I need that bean bag to stuff in here and hold these chairs stable." So the stuff gets moved.

Of course I did take some of the boxes to my house and unpacked them. Funny the stuff I found in these boxes. In one box marked pots and pans I found my camera case, some keg cups, and paper towels. I know the cups and towels were packed to take up space. I thought about getting the camera case out and decided that I had lived 2+ years without it, it would be better off staying in the box.

As I look at some of the stuff I find, I wonder “why” and “when.” I'm not really unpacking everything, since I figure I will only be in this house like 6 months or so. No reason to have to repack everything again soon. That is sad at times. In that same kitchen box I found my old coconut head and the change jar the girls got when they redecorated my room. Neither seemed like they fit in my current abode so in the box they stayed. That was kind of sad, hard to explain. Lots of memories like that, that just go back in storage for no reason other than no place to really put them yet. (Like all of my pictures and such).

Funny the stuff I want to find I can't. I keep wondering if I kept my kayak stackers for my truck, or what tools I still have. Though I never found a box marked garage or tools or anything like that. Closest I found was some boxes saying “Misc.” I have the time now to unpack them and take a look. However, they are buried in my storage unit that I'm not sure I want to unleash again.

Someday it will all be unpacked. The other thing I wonder is when I unpack it all, how much do I decide really belongs at goodwill now and not with me because it doesn't really matter. I wonder what I sold that I will regret not keeping. Right now I would trade my camera case for kayak stackers or a cordless drill. But alas, some of it was not sentiments but what fit in the boxes and space. Camera cases don't take up much space and are light so they don't get thrown out, Drills...well... you get the picture.
Whelp off to the library to do some reading and studying.


Advertisement



22nd April 2008

Operation Wolf
Good to see that Operation Wolf picture... good times! Did I ever tell you how I won that?

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb