Newport, OR


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Newport
December 29th 2009
Published: December 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Florence to Newport


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Tsunami Again Again 11 secs
2: Flasbacks 10 secs
Wish TreeWish TreeWish Tree

At Touchstone Gallery in Yachats www.touchstone-gallery.com
I think using photographs and video's may be a cheat. It's harder to describe something when you know you can just relay on photos and videos but that's okay. I will do my best for you.

My mother and I decided that the 28th would be a good day to go out to the Aquarium. Which is in Newport. Looking up the directions we discovered that there is a Toledo, OR. This is funny to me as most of my family comes from the East and specifically parts of Ohio. I've spent a lot of time there growing up. Though if you think about it there is also a Newport, CA in Orange County California.

On the way up to Newport we stopped at Yachats because my mother wanted to show me the Touchstone Gallery and it's wish tree. Right now the idea of a wish tree facinates me because of Yoko Ono Sculpture that you can read about here:

You can send your wishes

So to bow to my inspiration I guess I wrote "Yes" for my wish and added it to the tree. I hope that it gives someone peace. And honestly I didn't know what else to write and
YesYesYes

Derf posing with his wish inspired by Yoko Ono. www.touchstone-gallery.com
that was the first thing that came to mind.

After that we travled up to Newport for the Aquarium. I've made it a goal to see an aquarium in every place I can. So far I've seen the Long Beach Aquarium, Monteray Bay Aquarium, Boston Aquarium, Shedd Aquarium in Chicago, and the Brooklyn Aquarium. Psossibly more from my childhood that I've forgotten. Although each one is very similar it never gets boring. I'm always happy if I get to see some jellyfish and touch the creatures in the tidepool. Also each one features the local ecosystem so it's a good way to learn about the environment and what lives in the local habitat.

For dinner my mother and I eat at Flashbacks. A very typical sort of diner experience. The food was good and for dessert I got the mint chocolate brownie I was craving all day. If you go here get the desserts they are big enough to share and come with all the fixings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PlatePlate
Plate

A Plate on the back of a Veteran's car.
Water InstallmentWater Installment
Water Installment

Outside the Aquarium
A Gaggle of StarfishA Gaggle of Starfish
A Gaggle of Starfish

Actually don't know what you call a group of starfish. Post in the comments section if you know.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb