Oregon is a COOL Place!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Eugene
September 1st 2010
Published: September 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

While most of you sweat out the summer we continue to enjoy cool days and run the furnace just before sunrise! We just left the town of Newport on the Oregon Coast. We loved Newport. Camping at Whalers Rest Thousand Trails, we walked the beach every morning. Trips to town gave us the chance to stroll the marina boardwalks and watch fish mongers clean fish. The Harbor Seals and California Sea Lions were our entertainment. We had lunch at Mo's, where Bobby Kennedy and President Bush had both visited. Knowing we ate among the rich and famous was pretty cool!

We visited the Oregon Aquarium. This is where a sick whale spent 4 years getting well before being shipped to the New Englad coast. They also built the cage you see in one of my pictures (double-click pictures to enlarge.) This cage enabled them to capture the Sea Lion in "Marine Pollution" who got trapped in a boat chain. They sedated him and made him all better. The cage is still used today to trap and number the marine life so researchers can track them and learn their habits.

Moving on to Eugene we stopped to have the motorcoach serviced at Cummins Coachcare. It was good to see that Monaco (our Holiday Rambler mfgr) is up and running again under Navistar. While there we tried to switch out our fancy electric toilet with a normal flush one. No can do. So we will live with what we have.

Saving the most dramatic for last.... I fell out of the coach (BEFORE HAPPY HOUR) and broke my foot. The city of Eugene has an entire hospital dedicated to broken bones. Of course most of them are snow skiers. Anyway, I am hobbled for a few months. Princess is not happy about this as now she has to train Tom to wait on her hand and foot. I think this is a humbling experience for me; long overdue!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



3rd September 2010
Sea Lion with her Pup

Awesome Pictures
I am so surprised that the sea lion let you get that close to take her picture with the pup. Just adorable
3rd September 2010

What a pain
I am sorry to hear you broke your foot. Those stair wells in motor homes need more work. Princess I am sure would prefer to have you wait upon her... she has you trained and who knows if Tom will be trained by the time your foot has healed! I've ended up twice down in them when I wasn't even headed in that direction. One of my last mistakes was to put on their warm fleece socks to keep my toes toasty and they are slippery. One time the door was open and just luckily I managed to catch a hold of the handle and swing around outside... no, we weren't moving at that time, just me. I am sure this year is a green tomato summer. I have oodles of them just sunning themselves daily (East of the Cascades of course) but not maturing very fast. We will probably have a frost before that happens.
5th September 2010

Green Tomatoes
You are always so upbeat! Thanks for perking me up. Keep that extra stair handy for your motorhome at all times. Wish I had a garden this summer!
5th September 2010

Wonderful camera!
I didn't get that close. I have this wonderful camera ya'll gave me (thank you CTNA) with a ZOOM! I love my camera!
8th September 2010

Happy Hour Doesn't Wait For Anyone
Karen, Sorry to learn about your injury. We hope that you heal quickly. If you had fallen after happy hour you would not have hurt yourself. You would have been relaxed and less prone to injury. I drink Jack Daniels for a reason. Not for inebriation but to prevent snake bites. It works too! I have not been bitten by a snake in 48 years. So staying inebriated keeps you healthy. We wish you, Tom and Princess safe travel as you continue to explore our beautiful country. Give Tom and Princess hugs from us. Stay in touch. Vaya con Dios, Your Country Cousins
9th September 2010

Cool Summer
Sorry about your injury, but maybe it will give you a needed break. Glad that you and Tom have enjoyed a cool summer up in the NW. Maybe Dave and I will get out that way on a future trip. Newport and Whaler's Rest sound like great places to visit. Thanks again for sharing your pics!
9th September 2010

Happy Hour
You're right! Drunks never hurt themselves. Well, almost never. I remember a Halloween party...:-)
9th September 2010

Thousand Trails Travels
Hey Judy! Where will you two be this winter? Texas?

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb