how it all started


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Ashland
May 20th 2010
Published: May 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I guess I should touch on how this whole crazy thing began....

1. The travel bug/wanderlust
At some point in college I was introduced to the idea of a study abroad. Which I didn't do, however it set the idea in my head... and more specifically Italy. So I began to study the italian language and fell in love with it. Then shortly after graduation from college I heard about AuPair jobs. A friend from high school told about greataupair.com and I signed up, found a family and went to Italy. It didnt quite work out the way i had hoped, and I returned after only 2 months. I had spent most of my time near Milan in a small village called Barlasina. And had taken a holiday (during my stay and after I left the Au Pair job) to Rome.
I absolutely fell in love with Rome. It seemed that everywhere I looked there was some ancient thing left behind. Which actually made for easy getting around as there is a lot of landmarks to go by! The weather was warmer (it was february) and the people friendlier than Milan. I returned home in March, but I have always had Italy and Europe in general on my mind. So now it is 2 years later and I am about to set off again.

2. Around the World
Last year my sister introduced to me the idea of the around the world ticket. So this got me on a whole new wanderlust mission! but I thought to myself man, that is gonna cost some dough! Basically I was merely hving wishful thoughts about it.

3. Take action- live life now!
I had planned to move to Colorado this may. but the travel bug kept bitting and i kept on with my wishful thinking. Then one day my italian teacher said "what are you doing? go now! you are young!" And I thought my god she is right! So I thought well maybe I'll see how it works out and if I end up with enough money to go I'll do it. Then the more I thought about it the more I wanted to and I decided Iwould just make it happen whatever it took!

4. Planning
So I started working as much as possible, researching, and saving money! I determind that the around the world trip would be a little out of reach for the amount of time I had to plan and save money. So I decided to go to Europe and travel the continent by train! I have totally geeked out on all my plans and have things all set.

5. Here it goes!
I leave in 2 days! I will stop in Denver to see my sisters there for 2 weeks. (I figured I had at least visit since they were expecting me to be moving there) from there....London-Zurich-Milan-Florence-Siena-Naples-Sorrento-Cofu-Venice-Vienna-Prauge-Berlin-Stockholm-Amsterdam-Paris-Marseille-Barcelona-Valencia-Madrid-Dublin-Cork-Kilkenny-Galway-Edinburgh-Inverness-Glasgow-Manchester-Bristol-Bath-Brighton-London-and back on home! So total the trip will take 5 months!

wish me luck!!! here I go!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb