Working in OKC


Advertisement
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BricktownBricktownBricktown

The river walk in Bricktown. Modeled after the more famous one further south on I 35. That is the ballpark where the river bends.
In March, I was sent down to Oklahoma City for some work. I was actually somewhat excited about being sent there. I'd traveled many times thru this city, but had never really stopped in it (except for gas). It was time for me to get to see what OKC was really about. Turns out that the town was actually quite nice. Though, I still don't think I'll be moving there anytime soon. They've done a lot of work with trying to revitalize downtown. They've built a new minor league ballpark, new arena and a new riverwalk. They also had some good places to sit down and eat. Cattlemans was my favorite of the town. It was your classic old style steak house. Made some time to visit the Oklahoma City National Memorial. A very somber experience. They did a really great job in designing a proper place for remembering those that were lost on that awful day. If you have the time to stop for it, I would highly recommend it. All in all, I was really glad to see the town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Hornets NestHornets Nest
Hornets Nest

I was able to catch an NBA game while I was in town. Hornets vs. Suns. My first NBA game. It was entertaining at times. Glad I'd only spent 10 bucks on tixs though
Mickey MantleMickey Mantle
Mickey Mantle

Had no idea Mickey was from Oklahoma
Land Rush MonumentLand Rush Monument
Land Rush Monument

Nice little park commemorating the Oklahoma Land Rush
Swadley's BBQSwadley's BBQ
Swadley's BBQ

This was a place that Brent recommended. Since he couldn't remember exactly where it was, it took us 2 days to find it. Worth it though. Very good BBQ.


21st April 2006

Oklahoma City Looks Pretty Cool
We have been enjoying your blogs. We have not spent time there either. It sounds better than I would have thought. It looks like we must go up there to experience it for ourselves. Keep the Blogs coming they've been a lot of fun.
25th April 2006

OKC
Good to hear she's looking better. Next time you're in town try Ricky's on 23rd St if you want Mexican or the pho places around 23rd and Classen if you want Vietnamese.

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 74; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb