Greetings from Oklahoma!


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings and Salutations from Oklahoma!

Bella, Jojo, The Dude, Mischa and myself traveled another 500+ miles today!

Joanna decided to give the cats their "special" medicine prior to leaving this morning and it definitely kept them very calm. Or very scared. I'm really not sure. Joanna was freaking out because their inner eyelids were half closed causing them to look lizard like. And Dude managed to hide underneath the backseat which we were not even aware was possible. All in all though, they were quiet and slept most of the time.

We left Albuquerque this morning and took a look at the old town before jumping on the I-40. It was very small and quaint. We then proceeded to drive towards Oklahoma City. New Mexico has beautiful landscapes that we enjoyed looking at very much.

Upon entering Texas the landscape become very blah. The drive is very uneventful for the most part, but that didn't stop us! First, we stopped in Amarillo for no other reason than to buy the cats leashes. Like I said Joanna was freaking out about the medicated cats. So she thought that maybe they would like to get out of the car and pee; we didn't want a repeat from Mischa! However, I think we may have scarred them emotionally even more!! They were totally freaking out that they were attached to leashes, in a parking lot with loud noises. We then continued on to Groom, Texas that boast's the 2nd largest cross in the western hemisphere. That's right, I said the 2nd. AAA said that the cross could be seen from 20 miles away. Well, not the way were were going! We kept looking...20 miles: nothing....15 miles: nothing....10 miles: nothing...Finally, we saw it from 5 miles away, which is still pretty impressive.

I forgot to mention that I switched driving duties with Jojo in Amarillo. Despite what some say, her driving did not scare me. Her granny driving annoyed me though! LOL Plus, she was really paranoid about everything. We would be listening to a song that mentioned speeding and she would say "Is that a cop behind me?" Or "The wind is moving the whole car," or "Why is that guy on my ass?" or "That truck is going to hit me!" Needless to say, we decided that we are all much happier when I am driving. I get
NMNMNM

Scenery in NM
to drive above the posted speed limit, Jojo is not stressed, and Bella is perfect! Bella has been the perfect road trip companion. She has rarely complained, and her complaints are usually related to her back or body hurting. She takes care of the cats and entertains Joanna and myself.

The highlight for me today was meeting Bryan and his family tonight. For those of you that don't know, Bryan was a moderator for the Lost site I was addicted to for all those years! Him and his lovely family came to sit poolside with us and have some cocktails. It was really nice to put a face to all those articles and posts. Bella absolutely loved playing with Shelby and Gracie. She needed some kid time. My favorite part of the evening was when his 2 year old Gracie decided she was going to spend the night with us. Bryan and Teressa were trying to leave and Gracie said she would just stay with us. She was all comfy on my bed and looking very cute. So they told her "Bye, see you later," and walked out (teasing her of course). She didn't flinch. She told us she
TexasTexasTexas

BORING!
wanted to stay with us and didn't seem worried at all that her parents left LOLOL Sadly for little Gracie she was forced to go home! Thank you so much Bryan for coming out with your family and spending some time with us!

Saw 4 more people walking on the freeway...I have no idea what that is about. And NO, there is no broken down car anywhere.

Goodnight from Oklahoma!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

2nd Largest Cross in the Western Hemisphere2nd Largest Cross in the Western Hemisphere
2nd Largest Cross in the Western Hemisphere

Bella and I are standing at the bottom of the cross. I am wearing red.
Um...Um...
Um...

No leaning tower of Pisa here! We have a leaning water tower....Yay baby!
Butt Shot!Butt Shot!
Butt Shot!

Bella digging for something.
Joanna DrivingJoanna Driving
Joanna Driving

I was forced to entertain myself!
OklahomaOklahoma
Oklahoma

Jojo really liked the little red roof.
Air FreshenerAir Freshener
Air Freshener

Jojo says this is how we feel at the end of the day. I don't know what the hell she is talking about!
Proof!Proof!
Proof!

See I really met Bryan and Teresa!


31st July 2010

Astro time and Crosses
First let me assure your sister that the "special meds" do that and it is perfectly normal. Granted they are never happy on leashes. Been there have done that. Though if you had taken them on the plane and put them under your seat in cages, on meds and they decided to poop, well the other passengers would really dislike you! Loving this and glad that you met up with Astro and his family. I am surprised he did take the two year old he was trying to give her away and it would have been perfect timing as I offered to take her for th rest of the summer. As for the Big Cross it someohow reminds me of Ray's mom's Big Spoon. Sorry ... random thoughts. I am loving this trip and you all look so beautiful! I think we need to name your trip spreading beauty across America! Godspeed and Joanna just buy the kitties fresh catnip when in NYC, I think there is a person who sells it on the street corners ;-D (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((huggles to Joy, Bella, Joanna and the kitties))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb