Losers along the way


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Black Mesa
June 30th 2009
Published: July 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After making friends in other campgrounds on other storms, this site has been unusual in that I’ve made no friends. The campground has other campers who are working in the area and they get together around one of the barbeques for dinner but only one person has ever said hello to me.
So yesterday an older man was walking around when I opened up my door to let some cooler air in. He asked me if he could camp next to me and I told him that it was not my campground, nor did I care where he camped. He went on to tell me that he was staying in his truck but was going back to his house then would return with his RV. I personally didn’t really care what his plans were as I was trying to finish up and get out.
He then saw that my plates are California plates and told me that I was smart to leave CA and come to live in “God’s Country” to which I replied that I preferred CA and would be returning there soon.
I went back into the RV and didn’t give it any more thought.
This morning I was working on estimates when I heard the guy tell the campground manager that the pretty woman “in that RV told me I could stay here”. He went on to tell the manager that he would be back and that we would have a party. I’m thinking Good Luck Buster!
The manager left and the guy came over telling me thru the screen door what he had told the manager. He then asked if I would stay. I said no, that I was leaving tomorrow. He asked me why would I want to go back to CA and I told him “because I prefer it, everything is better there”. He then asked if I was married and I said yes to which he replied that was disappointing. He then told me how his wife had left him (what a shock) and how he had an RV but the fuel was too expensive so he camped in his truck.
I chased him off by saying I had too much work to do so I could get out of Oklahoma. I would not be back anytime soon. Now I will be back soon but not to see him!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.464s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb