Yer nature rocks!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok so ive only had like a day and a half with nature but so far so good! Think me and the snake (Sir Hissalot) have a bond although i still get freaked out when its face comes too close to me. Me and the iguana tho...not so close...he/she (some say its a guy called Isaac but a camper pointed out that it was a girl...hmmm) opened its mouth to me yesterday...and if it tried to bite me it would hurt bad...but it likes me enough to let me pick it up 😊
The rabbits (Flopsy and Pokadotted) and guinea pig (Brownie) are cute...its like being a kid again having to look after them. Brings back memories and helps the homesickness.
The box turtle (called Boxer) is cool. If you put it on its back it rolls over all by itself! Its impressive and quite easy to hold.

Was independance day yesterday but didnt have the night out to go and see the fireworks so not really a big deal. Was on night watch which was interesting. Wasnt with my usual night watch partner (Josh...who had went off to Wallmart so he could get shampoo and shower gel...yer i kno...febal excuse!) but i was with GeoMatt...the new horse programme director. He could only go around once because he had hurt his foot in a paintballing incident (yet he could walk faster than me...me thinks it is more lack of will to do work...he normally skips out on his duties).
Had to call down the chief male councellor because one cabin was still wide awake at 11 complaining that they could see aliens and wouldnt even stay in their cabin long enough.
The girls werent much better. One of the kids had anger management issues and threatened to kill another girl who started seeing madussa and rat people because she was panicing so much. The chief female councellor says that its probably a spiritual attack on her because she is so mature in her prayer walk.

Talked a bit to the chief councellor about why i got the superstaff and it wasnt because they felt sorry for me but because i am genuinely doing a good job and getting involved in as much as i can. I may not be as child orientated as some of the councellors but i still try and put a lot of effort into lesson plans and the like.

I love my club class as well. They are all so passionate about nature and are even teaching me a thing or two about all the different animals. Tomorrow we are going to get active with nature and plant plants around camp 😊 think the seniour staff liked that idea 😊 woop!

Am trying to go to the prayer chapel now for an hour every day. Is hard with my schedule as i have half an hour frees every so often and slots get filled really quickly.
Today and tomorro my slot is at 7am...is really quite hard to get up for it but it is so worth it. If i start my day with a good hour session with God then im all set and a lot more positive than i am without it. Who needs a lot of sleep when God will give you rest 😊

As always i am missing everyone!

Hope all is well in England and that everyone is keeping safe!

Lots of Love
Rachel
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



6th July 2008

ALIENS!
Wow! Aliens in Ohio? Hehe! I hope those kids managed to get to sleep in the end and weren't too scared! And I feel sory for the girl who the anger management girl said she'd kill >_< It's a bit unsettling for the poor girl...especially if it's causing her panic attacks! Let's hope she's ok! I'm missing you loads back here =[ but I know that you're being kept busy and hopefully keeping safe and happy! =D We're all ok back home...think we're all been kept fairly busy too! Well talk to you again soon my dear! Take care and stay safe! Loves xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb