Who Says You Can't Go Home Again?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Findlay
October 11th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I was growing up on my parent's farm, I had one goal in life. Actually, I don't remember the exact wording, but in my senior profile for the school newsletter type thing my goal was: "Get a good paying job and leave this town". Even back then I knew I wanted a faster paced life. Of course since I was 18, I knew everything, told it like it was and really wasn't concerned with how it sounded. Fortunately, with age came some wisdom. I am able to see all of the really great advantages I had growing up in a small town. Each year I look forward to coming back to the farm, staying with my parents and spending time with my extended family. This blog has a different feel to it than many of my others where I am climbing, hiking, rappelling and such; however, the theme is the same. It is about my experiences and how I see things. I hope you will enjoy it.

Normally I take a red eye flight putting me into Columbus in the morning where I am met by my brother in bad weather or my niece in nice weather. This trip was nice weather, but she was in school, so my parents picked me up. We met an Uncle and Aunt who live nearby and went out for lunch. It had been years since I had last seen them. We talked, ate and generally had a nice time catching up. It seems the busier life gets, the less I see of my family.

On Saturday the whole family went down to an Amish community for a family style supper. The Amish man was in the room with us, pouring drinks, serving the food and providing a very funny wit. His wife and daughter cooked. This was truly restaurant quality food prepared from produce from the farm. I can't remember the last time I had a freshly baked yeast roll with homemade apple butter. Well, to be honest I had 3 of them they were so good. We had ham loaf, baked steak, super fluffy mashed potatoes, the best corn ever and a salad. Dessert was homemade peach, butterscotch or pecan pies. My Dad was going to pass on dessert, so I had him get a pecan pie so I could have both the butterscotch and pecan. It was such a
Pizza on the SmokerPizza on the SmokerPizza on the Smoker

And if I may say, they were better than a lot of pizzas I have ordered in restaurants.
treat to have someone cook for us. I spent some time talking with the Amish woman who did the cooking. As professionals, we commiserated on the struggle to find help who care as much as we do. I was able to take a picture of the couple (some Amish will not allow pictures taken) but out of respect I am not going to post it here.

My middle brother Ted, whom I have referred to in many blogs, is a great supporter of my travel and blogs. He has often mentioned that we would be good on the Amazing Race, and honestly he is right. But anyhow, he has been doing a lot of smoking in/on 2 smokers at his house. I hear lots of stories of the great food he has done and was looking forward to smoked brisket and chicken. Last year he smoked the most amazing babyback ribs. I couldn't wait for dinner. After the Amish dinner, Ted and I trimmed and marinated the briskets and chicken. He put them on the smoker for somewhere around 5 hours if I am remembering correctly. There is something very different about smoked meats done in a small smoker
Trimming BrisketTrimming BrisketTrimming Brisket

My brother Ted and I doing the prep. He smoked it to perfection and I only had to enjoy. Good deal.
versus a big commercial smoker. After all the anticipation about this, I was pleased to say that it was better than I had expected. My contribution to the dinner was fairly straight forward. I had posted a picture of Chocolate Croissant Bread Pudding with White Chocolate Creme Anglaise on my Facebook page. It was for a very high end dinner at work. One of my nephews commented that he wanted it, so I promised that I would make it. Almost 2 dozen eggs, a quart of cream, quart of half and half, quart of milk and some other things later we had the warmest, richest dessert to end an incredible smoked meat dinner. The pictures are below but don't do justice to it. I have to say that I am impressed with the food that Ted has prepared. I guess I will have to kick it up a notch next year and do some serious cooking, lol.

For a little getaway, Dad and Mom took me up to Lake Erie. When we were just little kids we would spend some time in a cabin by Marblehead. The 5 cabins are still there and with the exception of a new
Slicing the BrisketSlicing the BrisketSlicing the Brisket

Home cooked meals are often better than those in a restaurant.
air conditioner, they have not changed a bit. It was incredibly neat to walk in and feel the memories come back. The weather was getting cool, so after a couple walks to watch the Lake, we spent the evening reading. How can it be that I love to read so much, but really only take the time to read when I am traveling? The next day we took the car onto a ferry to Kelley's Island. My parents thought it was funny that I was driving onto the ferry and taking pictures at the same time. Heck, that is just how I roll when I travel. I had never driven onto a ferry before, so wanted some shots by which to remember it. And yes, they came out beautifully. The Island was pretty much deserted since it was off season. It was a gorgeous Autumn day with leaves putting on their farewell show of color. We drove around for a bit until we came to the glacial grooves. These are some of the best grooves in the world according to signs. A huge glacier had covered the area and as it moved, rocks ground into the softer limestone. I was
At My Parents HouseAt My Parents HouseAt My Parents House

If you have read many of my blogs, you see some humor in them. Guess it comes to me naturally. lol
very impressed with how deep and well preserved the grooves were. I will put up a few pictures, but it is hard to really get a feel for them from photos.

For my last dinner, Ted and his family made pizzas to cook on the smoker. As someone who cooks for a living, I sometimes forget how food brings people together. It was a lot of fun talking and watching as the ingredients were chopped, diced and finally assembled onto the pizzas. Again, I have a few pictures of them, but it can't show how tasty they were. The older I get, the more I enjoy and appreciate my family and these times I can spend with them. As much as I wanted to leave the farm, I now look forward to going back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Time WarpTime Warp
Time Warp

This picture could have been taken 40 years ago
Time Warp 3Time Warp 3
Time Warp 3

Kaspar's Cabins. Just as I remembered.
Dad, Mom and MeDad, Mom and Me
Dad, Mom and Me

A great picture of a great day.
Lake ErieLake Erie
Lake Erie

One of the 5 Great Lakes


15th October 2012
Trimming Brisket

Love this pic
Great pic of you two! Peru sounds fab. My friends Alison and Ivan lived there for many years (he is Peruvian) before coming to live in Evanston. It is a trip I wish I had made while they still lived there. Come to Chicago while you are counting down the months and days!!
16th October 2012
Trimming Brisket

Thanks Val
I liked this picture. Ted and I don't cook together often, so it was fun to help hi (and let him do most of the work). I enjoyed this trip. Would love a getaway to Chicago. May see if I can take a few days off and use some miles.
15th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

Looks yummy!
I've never thought about doing pizzas in the smoker. Sounds interesting! But it will have to wait a while since Bart's smoker bit the dust during the last big storm this summer! :( The next trip to Peru sounds exciting! :)
16th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

They were great
He said you could just put them on the grill, but he uses a pizza stone. Since the heat is very high, it is similar to a wood burning pizza oven.
15th October 2012

Nice Pics
Hi B, Thanks for the shout out and posting the pictures. I feel like a celebrity! Hope the food channel doesn't call right away.....too busy yet for my own show. But really, it was great to have you home and to have a chance to visit. Enjoyed the write up on the trip and getting to see all the pictures.
16th October 2012

Ring Ring, Hello, Food Network?
Thanks Ted, I really enjoyed getting to sample the smoked goods. This was a great trip. I usually don't blog about these trips, but I liked doing this. Hopefully some of your buds will see these pictures.
16th October 2012

Ok, now I know where you get your wicked sense of humor
Loved the sign, ring door bell, if no answer, pull weeds! Priceless! Yep, loved looking at the Ohio pics. No one grows better corn, NO ONE! Sounds like a lot of fun was had by all and great food. Glad you had a nice visit. They become more important as time goes on. Happy travels and great blog my friend.
16th October 2012

I liked to D & MJ
Yes, my humor comes from my parents. We had a very nice time. Autumn is a good month to visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the blog. I wasn't sure how to make this blog work, but was pleased with it. Safe travels to you.
16th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

Mmmmmmm :)
I would have gone back just for the pizza, but it is true. At the end of the day, there is no place like home :)
16th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

Very True
As much as I love my big vacations, I look forward to the week in Ohio just as much. But yes, the pizzas were great. We didn't get into it this year, but the same brother has 2 friends and the 3 of them brew some pretty tasty beers too.
16th October 2012

Great company, food and memories!
Looks like you truly enjoyed yourself. Great to see families gather just to "be together." MJ and I miss you.
16th October 2012

Thanks Dave
We had a great time. It was nice to catch up, eat and enjoy being together.
16th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

This image is making me hungry!
These look delicious pizzas - how can I order one?
16th October 2012
Pizza on the Smoker

They were as good as they looked
I will give him a call to see if he would deliver outside the US. lol
16th October 2012

Mouth-watering, heart-felt blog!
Smoked pizzas, Amish homegrown food and that amazing bread pudding--you guys know how to enjoy the good life! How sweet that you're so close to your family, make the time to see them and have fine adventures together (loved the glacial grooves). A great blog from the heart!
16th October 2012

Thanks Tara
I wasn't sure how this blog would fly. Normally I write them as if I were talking with my family but that wouldn't work here. The grooves were something I didn't expect- very different than what I saw in Patagonia. Enjoy your travels and thanks for commenting.
16th October 2012

Good Pics
I've got to say...the Chicken on the smoker is by far my favorite pic. Makes me think you should make the trip to KC next October for the American Royal BBQ - with Brother Ted, who has already promised he was coming in 2013!!! Again - thanks for sharing.
16th October 2012

That would be great
I would love to go the American Royal BBQ. I can just imagine how it would smell with all those bbqs going. I'm glad you liked the picture. I was pleased with it.
17th October 2012

Home
A lovely warm post. Loved the food descriptions, and that chocolate croissant bread pudding sounds divine - I'll have to try making it :)
17th October 2012

Thank you RenandDrew
I am glad that the blog conveyed how I felt. It was a nice trip. Are you planning any jaunts soon?
25th October 2012

pizza
The pizza looks pretty good, can you make a smoker pizza like the one you had ?
25th October 2012

I have a feeling I could, although I don't have a smoker. (or patience to spend the time with a smoker lol)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb