Country Bumpkin in the Big City, or Future World Traveler in the Making?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
December 26th 2012
Published: December 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ready to LeaveReady to LeaveReady to Leave

Wow, look at the awesome luggage. lol
This is another blog that is a bit different. It has been 30 years since I took my first "big" trip to another country, so I pulled out my photo album to take a look. I was a Junior in high school when the foreign language classes from all of the county schools planned a trip to Montreal, Canada. I was studying French and pictured myself so very worldly. True, the longings for travel and far away places were within me, but that didn't make me the sophisticate I thought I was. One of the reasons I think about this trip as my first big trip is that I was starting to grow into myself. I was working full time in a local restaurant as part of the plan for heading to culinary school, so I had some money in my pocket and big dreams for the future. Going to Canada was another step to independence and living life in the fast lane. For fun, I thought I would take a look back at the 17 year old Brendan

We left on large tour buses the day after Christmas. The original plan was to drive up through Detroit, take the
A Revolving DoorA Revolving DoorA Revolving Door

True, I had never really seen one before, but really? A picture?
Ambassador Bridge into Canada where we would transfer to a train for the trip up to Montreal. A price hike in the train system squashed that plan and quite frankly devastated me. I had never been on a train and just knew it would be the most incredible experience whereas the bus, well, I had been there and done that. Nothing could change the organizers minds, so through the night we rode on buses. We arrived to our hotel around 7 AM, but the rooms were ready so we were able to check in and shower before going out touring.

Our first tour was to Eglise Nortre-Dame. It was easily the largest, most grandiose church I had ever seen. I took many pictures of this church and looking at them today I can agree that it was pretty spectacular. I can't remember if it was just prior to this trip or after it, but my Grandfather taped a concert that was filmed in this church on a new gadget called a VCR. He would play it for me each time he saw me. I must have talked about Notre-Dame so much that he wanted to share my enthusiasm. After touring the church some of my friends and I went for crepes. Apparently I didn't like them much, because all I wrote about them was "Yuck" with no further explanation. This does, however, bring us to yet another side note.

How do I remember so much about this trip? Well, I saved every scrap of paper related to it. I have the receipts for the trip, ($230 USD for everything) the itinerary, anything with French on it down to a McDonald's place mat, newspaper, sugar packet, etc etc etc. I wrote a journal of what we did, saw and ate. It is actually fun to read, because I am seeing the trip through a teenager's eyes. Heck, I even drew a floor plan of the hotel room detailed to show where the beds, chairs and nightstands were. I had recently purchased the newest camera on the market, the Kodak Disc Camera, so I was cool and hip- no 110 film for this boy. I practically wore that camera out. The photos were not good quality, and when I look at what I took pictures of I just shake my head. I have a shot of a revolving door, a
Ah, the Awkward Teenage YearsAh, the Awkward Teenage YearsAh, the Awkward Teenage Years

I had not yet discovered the 1 arm photo shot I guess.
shot looking down from my hotel room to the roof below, a picture of a generic hotel hallway and so on.

Not to go into full detail of everything we did or saw, but let me say that there were some highlights. Riding the subway was one of my absolute favorite things. We toured the 1976 Olympic Park. It was so huge, so impressive, so steeped in history that I still remember being in awe. Heck, I could remember watching those Olympics. The idea that I was standing in a place I had seen on tv was very difficult to wrap my mind around. I wasn't too impressed with the Stock Exchange (what 17 year old would be??) nor was I bowled over by the planetarium. But, the underground shopping gallery? Wow, I loved that. Talk about icing on the cake. The subway station would be adjacent to an entrance to a shopping mall under the city. There was no need to walk in the cold winter weather. I just thought this was the coolest thing. Back at home there were a couple shopping malls, but none were so fancy, none had signs in French, and none were underground. The rest of the trip followed the same pattern. I was intrigued by the little things and open to it all. Heck, going to see a movie was an experience because the movie theater was so huge compared to the ones near home. All in all it was a really great trip with stories and memories I still remember even without having to pull out the album.

When I first thought about writing about this, I chuckled at what a naive bumpkin I was. It was while I was looking at my journal, photos and souvenirs I realized that I am the same person. I still take a ton of pictures, buy new cameras, save silly memorabilia from my trips. Each trip brings new worlds and experiences. Although I may travel to further and more exotic locations these days, the core experience is the same as it was 30 years ago. Had there been internet back then, I'm sure I would have been blogging and telling my stories just as I do now. To the 17 year old Brendan I have to say "good job." He knew where he was going and who he was going to become. He
Olympic ParkOlympic ParkOlympic Park

Ok, I would still take pictures of this.
just didn't have all of the tools and life experience yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Highest Point in MontrealHighest Point in Montreal
Highest Point in Montreal

Or at least that is how I titled this photo. But then again another was titled "a famous bridge"


25th December 2012

Geez! How old are you?
Great idea for a blog. I really enjoyed this! The first big trip makes the biggest impression. If you only knew then the places you would go....
26th December 2012

Older than the hills it seems
I'm glad you enjoyed this. I enjoyed looking back and doing this. It was a great trip.
26th December 2012

The making of a world traveler!
The essence of who you are has not changed...merely developed. Loved the telling of this tale and thanks for sharing the memory as you approach the anniversary of this trip. I was tickled by all the items you saved from the trip. What cherished memories. I've really enjoyed this step back in time and hope you will write others. Let's toast to future exotic locations.
26th December 2012

Thanks D and MJ
It was fun to take a look back at the beginning, so to speak. And yes, I will toast to future exotic locations for sure!
26th December 2012

Love this!
Oh, to be young again. I'm amazed these old photos are still good. How nice to be reading one's own teenage journals and relive the memories. I smiled just imagining you drawing that hotel floor plan. And hey, you certainly knew what you wanted in life and got it! Good job!
26th December 2012

Thank you so much Liliram
I enjoyed doing this. At first it was a tongue in cheek poking fun at myself, but I actually learned something about myself by doing this. And the hotel floor plan, I used a ruler to make sure the lines were straight. lol
26th December 2012

Good one!
Wondering, how you must have felt while looking at your old pictures. It was so good to read this. I shall also go back & check my old albums tonight ;)
26th December 2012

Ah, the old photos
Thank you for the comment. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I have to say that going through my old pictures is similar to reading my early blogs on here. I kind of shake my head and laugh to myself. (in a good, nostalgic way) Have fun going through your old albums.
27th December 2012

In Awe of the World
An observation from your blog was the sense of awe and wonderment you had in everything you saw - despite how small or seemingly insignificant it was. That is something we lose (both travellers and non-travellers) as we get older. It is wise to remind oneself of the awe and wonderment that this world holds on a regular basis, as it adds a enriching perspective to life.
27th December 2012

You Are So Right
Shane, you are so right about that. It is good to remind oneself that everything and anything can be different and interesting. Seeing this trip through my teen age eyes was truly an eye opener. As I get ready to hit the road again, I should read your comment to remind me.
27th December 2012
Look, It's in French!

Pas la meilleur mais elle est vrai!
17th January 2013

Ah~ This was such a joy to read. You really captured the exhilaration of leaving home and experiencing the differences and novelties of a new place (and your first big trip, wow). I also really related on the little scraps of memorabilia and reflecting back. It's funny how those little details -- even a small receipt -- can help one recall much more. Great blog~
18th January 2013

Thank you Michelle
I am very glad you enjoyed this. I think it strikes a chord with each of us about our first trip. This blog was a fun trip down memory lane.
16th February 2013

Special Blog
Think you had quite a few of us looking back through younger eyes - thanks for sharing
16th February 2013

Thanks Cindy
This was going to be a tongue in cheek blog until I started writing it. I really enjoyed looking back. Would love to see a blog of your first big trip.
7th March 2013

Hotel mail
I remember we all were fascinated by the mail slot. You could drop your postcards into the slot on any floor and it traveled down to the first floor. I have a picture of that somewhere! lol Funny what amazed us back then!
7th March 2013

Hotel Mail Slot
Deb, it is so funny that you wrote that. I was waiting for some people in a hotel lobby this afternoon, and thought of that mail slot. It was just the most incredible thing I thought. Ah, I am still amazed by some of the easiest things I guess.
26th December 2013

Jealous
Is it wrong that I am so jealous of my world traveling friend?
26th December 2013

I Don't Think So
I don't think so Patty, but then again perhaps I am biased. I just wish I were able to see even more of the world, but hopefully in time. Yet of all the trips I take, the ones back to Ohio are some of my favorites.
26th December 2013

Look at that Coiffure!
To think if teenage Brendan knew of the adventures that he would be going on as adult Brendan in these pictures. Thanks for sharing B, miss you!
26th December 2013

I know, so much hair!!
Where did the time, and hair go?? I don't think teenage Brendan really knew where all he was going to go, but he was open and ready. I miss you too. Too bad Adult Brendan can't manage to make it up to Portland. Ugh.
31st January 2014

I, too, remember that trip very well. It turned out to be the only time that I traveled with students out of the country. I remember that I liked the Olympic Building very well, and the old cathedral. I also liked shopping in old Montreal city, though it wasn\'t the underground mall. I also remember a nice coffee mug, which I still have, that mysteriously appeared outside the chaperones\" door. It was from Pere Noel. I also remember talking to you after some of your free time, and you all told me that you had had a wonderful time riding all over the city on the subway. I found reading your blog very touching, and I am happy to think that I may have helped spark even a little bit of the \"travel bug\" in you. Although most of my recent travels have been inside the United States, I find the thought of a good road trip to be most enjoyable. So, with love, I say \"Bon Voyage\" and travel safe!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 14; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb