Markets, Bikes, and Fire


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Columbus
June 13th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday morning, I decided it was high time to get my hands on some groceries. So I started out at the Clintonville Farmer's Market- about 2.5 miles north of where I live. I took my bike with my new grocery baskets. I bought some zucchini and yellow squash, gouda cheese, a big artisan bread, and a buckeye scone (breakfast).

After transporting that back to my apartment, I headed for the grocery store to get the rest of what I need. I hit Aldi's and Giant Eagle and should be pretty well set.

After lunch and a quick nap, I headed out again on my bike. This time I rode up the Olentangy Trail (called a myriad of different things- it's a bike trail that runs north and south through Columbus) to Ohio State's Wetland Research Center. Then I headed back down the other way and onto campus. I rode around campus a little bit, found a nice big quad (with some sunbathers *bonus*) and read for a while.

I fixed dinner and headed downtown for WaterFire, a new Columbus tradition. Basically, they build giant bonfires out on the Olentangy River and after some entertainment (to be talked about in a moment) light them on fire. It creates a really neat effect to see the fires reflected on the water.

So anyway, I got a little out of order and didn't talk about the entertainment. The first order of business was Cathy from the Storytellers of Central Ohio, or as she likes to be called, Cathy of the Fairies. She told a couple of old Irish tales in an accent that kind of came and went as it pleased. Later she entertained by being the only person standing in front of the entire crowd dancing about to the smooth sounds of Dwight Lenox and the Lenox Express.

This is a local jazzish cover band that does a pretty good job. The signer's voice was hit or miss, but the rest of the band was fantastic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb