Back to Boone...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina
September 25th 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So monday I returned to my first exam...a math one too! The exam went very badly actually but somehow I managed to get 80%!! They are very leniant over here and he gave me loads of marks for questions I didnt have a clue to and had written down some random stuff, but it seemed to work. I also had a music exam on thursday, but it was an online open book multiple choice exam (the only exams I have to take in this class are all like that) so was pretty easy really and I got 93%... I cant believe these exams are actually goig to count towards my final degree...so good!!! So most of the week here was spent catching up with work.

Friday night me and my friends had planned to go camping in a place called Upper Creek Falls. By friday afternoon it had started raining, but we still decided to go. It took us ages to get there as we stopped and bought food and camping stuff and once we had parked up, we then had to hike 20 mins (downhill...although back uphill tomorrow) to where we wanted to camp...right next to the waterfalls in the middle of the woods! By the time we go there it was starting to get dark, so the guys began to start the fire and us girls set up both the tents. By the time it was all done it was pretty dark, so it was fun trying to cook in the dark and sort all our stuff out. We had hot dogs for dinner..haha...and melted marshmallows for dessert. It was such a nice evening too as it had stopped raining and so there were 8 of us just sitting out till like 3 in the morning, talking and drinking. It was lots of fun, and surprisingly not that cold when i was in my sleeping bag.

The next morning we had a nicer breakfast than we did dinner (dont know how that worked out) but we had chopped up bits of steak with some kind of sausage. Was very nice! W had pitched out tents right near the river so we decided to maybe go for a swim, even thought its been in like the 50/60's over here, but hey! The guys went in first, there was this rope swing they were all flipping off, and there was also this siding rock which I really wanted to do but it was sooo cold. It took my like an hour to decide and eventually me and my friend erica decided to just go for it..we hadnt even been in the water yet. Anyway so up we climbed and then just slid down this rock into the water and it was soooooo cold. It was so cold that I think my lungs froze as when i tried to shout, it barel came out...it was quite scary, i couldnt breathe properly so I got out. Once I was out I wasn't even cold, the air was sooo humid I actually felt hot n sticky, but there was no way I was getting back in, altho it was kinda fun in a weird way!

We then set off for the 20 minuted hike uphill back to the car...that was hardwork but overal a really fun night. On the waydriving back, erica noticed a little scottish shop on the roadside, so we decided to pop in for fun and they had this littl british food section where they had cadburys chocolate, pg tips, yorkshire puddings, baked beans, chocolate digestives, ribena juice,
such a pretty waterfallsuch a pretty waterfallsuch a pretty waterfall

was so relaxing listening to this whilst going to sleep...
so us english people may have kept this little random shop going for a few days. It was so nice to drink some ribena...they dont have squash over here...its all fruit juices/pop/water!

This weekend is homecoming...yay...my friend chukuma from Africa is down to the last 4 guys which considering there are 14000 students at asu....

Hope you are all doing ok at home, and that you at keele have moved into your houses ok!! I wish I was there so bad...only like 15 or so weeks to go...haha...joking im not really counting down, everything is going well here and october and november are going to be good, have lots planned. Take care everyone.

Layla
- x -


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



26th September 2006

hey lil sis
You are crazy, that photo of you sliding down the rocks looks well scary!!! You wont be doing it again will you though after dads little chit chat with you (hee hee)! Glad you done well in your exams, you always think you are going to do do crap you said the same about you GCSE's and came out with A's you will always do well! Love you loads xxxxx

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb