layla does america!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Wilmington
September 25th 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, god it feels like ages since I've written in here but I had a problem with my email, basically someone had taken over my laalaa44@hotmail.com account so if you have emailed me since tues 19th september and I haven't replied, it was because I could not get into my account. But it has all been sorted now and I can now get into but my whole msn space was taken over by someone called Lisa Kane, so I had to start a new msn space which meant all my photos had gone from there, but luckily I have them all on my laptop. I also lost all my emails and all of my contacts. But anyway so I have now two accounts my old one and a new one laylawest87@hotmail.co.uk and Id prefer it if you all used the newer one.

Ok ranting over, last weekend me, elly and katrin (from Germany) decide to take a 7 hour/320 mile each way road trip to the beach. For those of you who dont know North Carolina very well, I am in Boone, in the mountains in the very west of North Carolina and Wilmington, the beach, is obviously in
moimoimoi

on the balcony of our hotel room overlooking the harbor
the East of the state so we literally drove across the state in 7 hours in this very old car my friend has bought for $1000, like 550 pounds. We left thurs afternoon and unfortunately the car broke down right as we were going round the orner at the interection (traffic lights) after about 10 minutes some guys came and pushed us to a safer spot and spent about 2 hours trying to figure out what was wrong with the car....but eventually gave up, so my friend had to call her German version of AA which had some kind of deal with the American AA to come and tow. It turns out they had one tow guy in 80 miles...so again we waited another couple of hours, eventually he came and had a look there and then as we were still determined to leave for the beach that night. Well it turns out she need a new ignition model or something and the stored wouldnt be open till the next morning...so wilmington was put off for a day.

Anyway the next day was all good, go the new part for the car, test drove it for a while and then set off for our drive to wilmington. Everything went well except this flashing red light say check battery, we stopped for a while and it didnt do anything so we just ignored the light as the car seemed to be running ok. Anyway by friday evening we were in wilmington and it was soooo beautiful. This was the first time ive ever been in the atlantic ocean and it was sooo much fun, although to be fair I had just as much fun in the sea in newquay this summer. But anyway, for anyone who is interested Wilmington is where they filmed Dawson's Creek and One Tree Hill, so we did a little sightseeing of downtown wilmington and elly wanted to look for some of the filiming locations and we ate some good food in some nice restaurants on the beach and by the river. So overall a really nice and relaxing weekend away from studying...although I had my first exam to return to on monday!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



25th September 2006

elllo cheeky
hey hun, glad to hear your going strong n avin a great time. make sure u fring back a couple of sourvenirs back for us!!! everythins goin well back home, jobs goin ok n evry1s just got back so it barely feels like we left. miss you n take care my good lady.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb