Harrington, DE to Nags Head, NC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina
January 12th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Harrington to Nags Head


Striking a PoseStriking a PoseStriking a Pose

Me with the statue.
Left Harrington around 8:30 headed for Norfolk and then to Nags head. Arrived in Norfolk around noon and went to the USS Wisconsin. That ship is huge. Over 800 ft. long. A little shy of three football fields. Amazing. Just think if society put as much effort into finding cures for diseases and helping people, rather than ways to efficiently kill people how much better this world might be. The problem is money and egos get in the way and we have what we have, societies building up their arsenals so as to intimidate first and to kill when intimidation doesn’t work.

Left Norfolk around 2. Got lost momentarily and had to take a different route. This set me back probably an hour or so. I stopped at a gas station and noticed all of the fighter planes flying over. The attendant at the gas station stated that there are two military bases nearby one was Oceania and the other I forget. She said the jets fly everyday like that. That rumbling would get old for me. Continued onto Nags Head. I arrived in Kitty Hawk around 4:45 and decided to see the Wright Brothers Monument. It closed at 5:00
USS WisconsinUSS WisconsinUSS Wisconsin

Big boat that has seen some action in the Pacific Theatre.
so the attendant told me I didn’t have time to walk the hill to the monument, which was much bigger than I had suspected. I snapped a few photos and headed to look for lodging. I asked the attendant where the cheapest lodging was and he pointed down the street. I drove that way and did indeed find some cheap lodging. $46.00 a night works for me. I needed a good nights rest following a night in the truck, as those nights are never too relaxing. I spoke with a lady at the front desk as I waited to check in that had offshore sailing experience. It was interesting talking to her about that as that is something that has peaked my curiosity in recent years. She warned me about the dangers and the necessary knowledge to do such a thing. I knew most of what she was recommending. The take home message, get some experience with seasoned veterans before trying anything on my own. I agreed with that. Headed out for awhile after showering and napping, but was too tired to stay out very long and decided to hit the hay.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Chesapeake Bay TunnelChesapeake Bay Tunnel
Chesapeake Bay Tunnel

Driving through the tunnel.
Chesapeake Bay TunnelChesapeake Bay Tunnel
Chesapeake Bay Tunnel

Driving through the tunnel.
Boat Over TunnelBoat Over Tunnel
Boat Over Tunnel

Driving boat over tunnel!
Set the HookSet the Hook
Set the Hook

This observation point at the bridge is also a fishing location. To get the fish up to the boardwalk they have to lift them through the air about 30 ft. All I can say is you better set the hook good!
Norfolk MermaidNorfolk Mermaid
Norfolk Mermaid

I found this Mermaid in Norfolk. Very pretty downtown area!
North CarolinaNorth Carolina
North Carolina

North Carolina welcomes me to their state! That was nice of them!
Kitty HawkKitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk

Kitty Hawk welcomes me!
Wright Brothers MemorialWright Brothers Memorial
Wright Brothers Memorial

The Wright Brothers are big down here!
Wright Brothers Memorial Pic 2Wright Brothers Memorial Pic 2
Wright Brothers Memorial Pic 2

Not sure of the significance. The Park was closing when I got there.
Busy BeachBusy Beach
Busy Beach

Surprised how many people were on the beach this time of year.
Splurged on a HotelSplurged on a Hotel
Splurged on a Hotel

One of the few nights I decided to spend in a motel. You guessed it. It is cheap. Actually the motel had lots of character inside. I suspect the expense would be much more in the Summer!
Walkway to the BeachWalkway to the Beach
Walkway to the Beach

You see these walkways all over the place!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb