Harvard, Mass to Harrington, Delaware


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware
January 11th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Harvard, Mass to Harrington, Delaware


Spent most of today driving from Harvard, Massachusetts to Harrington, Delaware. Went through Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware. I followed the mapping program the entire way. I checked it to see that it was generally sending me to the correct area and it was at first glance. I didn’t realize it was sending me through downtown New York City. It was pretty heroining. The computer would bark out commands and I would watch for the signs, while having traffic all around me. We crossed the bridge into Jersey and things were much improved. It was neat through New York how much effort they put into saving their trees. They essentially built the roads around the trees. Very pretty. I don’t think Illinois would put that kind of effort into saving trees. They had workers cleaning debris from the roads and roadside in a couple locations. I got the impression that maybe this was their full time job as the stretch of roadway was lengthy. Made it to Harrington, DE around 7:30. I was looking for a motel that either gave me a good price around $40 or I was going to camp. A very nice lady at the
Cell Tower Cell Tower Cell Tower

Another cell tower made to look like a tree.
American Inn said I could sleep in my truck in the parking lot. So I decided to do that. It is supposed to be in the low 20’s tonight so sleeping may be a little rough. We will see. I went to a bar and hung out with the locals for awhile. They were a little rougher characters than I have been used to in the bigger City’s however they were very nice and bought me a couple rounds. I think my story interest them. The one biker dude looking guy asked me, “How tall are you? You look like your 7’-0” tall.” I told him only 6’-3”. Had fun talking to these guys.

I got back to my motel parking lot and the lady (Betty) agreed to allow me to access the internet in the motel common area. It seems the motels generally let you do this. They obviously are not the owners of the motel and generally are extremely friendly people. I showed her some of the pics from the trip and we talked for awhile. A little later she brought me a bag of fruit saying it’s tough to wake up in the morning without food.
Fun Driving!Fun Driving!Fun Driving!

I hadn't checked where my gps program planned to take me when I mapped it out in the morning. It took me right through the heart of New York City. At times I was just listening to the commands and making turns without even looking at the computers map. Intense Stuff!
I told her that is not necessary, but thanked her and told her the gesture is appreciated. I think she thinks I need the help as I sat there typing on my laptop, and the PDA digital camera to my left. Anyway, bottom line is, she is an extremely nice lady. Her husband who was a police officer had a stroke at 42 and now she has to support him. Nice to meet people like her.

I decided to call it a day around 11:00 and am heading to my truck to watch a speed racer episode then nighty night. Go Speed Racer, Go Speed Racer, Go Speed Racer Goooooo!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

I am driving a truck!I am driving a truck!
I am driving a truck!

Confused for a split second when I saw this sign. I assumed it meant big trucks!
NYC fromThe Boss's sideNYC fromThe Boss's side
NYC fromThe Boss's side

A pic of New York City from New Jersey. Boss of course is a reference to my boy (Bruce Springsteen)!
My Camp Site My Camp Site
My Camp Site

My camp site in Harrington, Delaware. I met the nicest lady of the trip working at this place. She allowed me to work in their lobby and gave me fruit to eat.


6th February 2007

I'm glad you shared the story of Betty. It's neat to hear about people like her.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb