Travels with Snowbirds Thursday March 7, 2013, Myrtle Beach Travel Park to Wilmington NC


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

BabySandhill1BabySandhill1BabySandhill1

Thanks to Larry B for these wonderful pictures.
The One About The Baby Bird Pictures

OK, so I lied. I just have to write one more blog to finish up this trip.

The wind continued until about 10:00 pm last night. I have probably never spent such an uncomfortable day in any RV I have owned. I literally went outside 3 times yesterday, and only because I had to walk Winston. But, the good news is everything was packed and cleaned by the time I went to bed, and I was hoping for a quick unload at home.

On the road by 8:30, stopping only for gas - it's $.20 cheaper per gallon in SC than in NC so says gasbuddy.com. I was home by 11. It took me 2 times to pull into my driveway - driving straight, not backing in. I have no concept of how close I can get to something, and first try I ended up 15 feet off the garage with my butt hanging in the street and crooked. Second time was better. Moya just makes it into the driveway.

Unpacking was just as easy as I had hoped. I moved bags and baskets near the door, then put them on the ground, then carried them thru the garage into the house and piled them up. I turned the heat on, plugged in the refrigerator, turned on the hot water heater and put a load in the washing machine. Including emptying the basement storage, I was done by 12:30. Easiest ever.

I turned on my computer. I had adjusted my Time Warner Triple Play service before I left, downgrading to seasonal for 2 months and it was supposed to be turned back on today. NOT!!! 4 phone calls later, pinging modem, resetting router, restarting modem again, restarting router again, restarting computer, and I have internet at very slow speed. I am done for the day and will tackle that issue tomorrow. Then I turn on the TV to watch General Hospital, "This cable box is not authorized." WTF??? One more phone call, making 5 to TWC, and that issue was fixed. GROWL!!!!! I can't wait to get their customer service survay. Believe me I would change providers if I could. Time Warner is my only choice; there is no Comcast, no Verizon, NOTHING!!!!

Finally got my email on my laptop and saw these pictures from Pennsylvania Judy B. A baby Sandhill Crane hatched!! Her husband, Larry, got these wonderful pictures!!!! Thanks so much for sharing.

It's good to be home, I can't deny that, but I sure do enjoy being on the road.

Again, I am humbled by the amount of readers I have, over 50 each posting, and sometimes up to 75 or 80. Wow. I truly am humbled. Thanks all for coming on my trip with me.

Happy Trails, Until We Meet Again.

Kat Out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb