Travelswith Snowbirds. Wednesday March 6, 2013, Myrtle Beach Travel Park, Myrtle Beach SC


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The One About The End

OMG did it rain overnight. I fell asleep watching TV sitting bolt upright in my chair, wrapped in a big wool shawl, crochet on lap. I woke up at 1:00 and went to bed. I immediately fell back to sleep, but woke up at 3:00 am to intense rain. Buckets slapping against Moya’s sides and top. So hard, I had to get out of bed to make sure it wasn’t the ocean coming up!!! I laid for a while listening to it and fell back to sleep. Up at 6:30, on the beach at 6:45 (about 30 minutes after sunrise) for very unsuccessful shell picking. The wind was so intense I had to give up after less than half a mile. It was awful! So were the shells. The sky is crystal clear blue, but the wind is insane!!! I guess there have been gusts at 50 mph. It is coming pretty much straight out of the west, hitting Moya on her left/driver side. All day long. No let up. The temperature is about 50, and it would be wonderful outside, except for the relentless wind.

Following up on a few things – when I got to MBTP, I saw 2 ants, one on the outside, and one on the inside. I squashed them both with my finger, and haven’t seen another one since. My cardiac symptoms are few and far between. Every now and then I get an episode of palpitations that can last from 5 minutes to 2 hours, but that’s all good. I sit down if I need to, or just ignore it and it goes away. My heart rate has stayed slow – never going above 100 except if I walk fast. No heart drugs at all. My ankles are slim. I wish the rest of me was. I am going to try to cut the Nexium down to one tablet every other day and see if that keeps my stomach and esophagus calm. I sure hope so.

Winston didn’t even want to go outside! That’s got to be a first. So, I took this opportunity to start to pack up things to bring back into the house. I have collected quite a few shopping bags over the course of this trip from various events. All my clean and dirty clothes are in black plastic bags. Food and electronics are in shopping bags. I wiped down the cabinets, inside and out. I even reorganized some stuff that I will leave in cabinets and drawers. I washed the inside of all the windows. We sparkle!!!! The only thing left for me to do when I get home tomorrow is move all the bags, vacuum and wash the floor. Then I can work on finding a space to park her for a few months.

I don’t want to get all sad and gloomy, so I won’t. I am probably neither. I am just looking forward to my next adventure. (Although this wind today has made me a little stir crazy and I probably am anxious to get the hell out of this blasted tin can and be in a house!!) As I said to Numa recently about himself, and I know it is true for me: how fortunate that we have been able to re-invent ourselves over and over and over again. Life has been wonderful for this old lady.

I end my Snowbird 2013 trip with a favorite quote of mine from the awful Kevin Costner movie, “The Guardian.” I might have plagiarized it just a bit to better suit me. If I’ve used it before, I apologize. I just like it.

Hell, I've always been old. Ya' know what though, I don't mind. I mean, if my muscles ache, it's because I've used them. If it's hard for me to walk up the steps now; it’s because I walked up them every night to lay next to a man who loved me. I got a few wrinkles here and there, because I've lain under thousands of sunny skies. I look and feel this way, because I drank and I smoked; I have lived and I have loved, danced, sang, sweat and screwed my way through a pretty damn good life if you ask me. Getting old ain't bad. Getting old, is earned.

Kat out

Advertisement



7th March 2013

LOVED your quote.. How true. The aim is to slide into the grave all used up and be able to say "Wow, what a ride!" I'm working on that one.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb