Up the Creek


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had to go there. The journey from Florida was a hassle-filled 18 hours, Wilmington being a bit out of the way on the coast of North Carolina. The town is of course semi-famous for its film studios, second only to LA, and as being the location for Dawson's Creek (also One Tree Hill and others). The cab driver on the way to downtown was happy to tell us that he'd driven a few stars around, before going on to a barely related anecdote about how his friend had met Clint Eastwood in New York once. We had some great cab drivers.
The town was beautiful, everyone who actually lives there is very proud of it. It was a lot like I expected, although to discover that buildings that I'd always assumed were opposite were in fact several miles apart was a little disorientating.
On day 3 I left Raj in front of the world cheerleading championships (lol) or something on TV and trekked over to the university, the set for the high school. I carried on walking to Hewlett's Creek, the real Dawson's Creek (4 miles, you can decide for yourself if that is obsessive) I also eagerly followed directions to 'the wall' (where Pacey wrote to Joey 'ask me to stay'!) but it was disappointing - they hadn't left the writing on. It is in fact just a wall. Raj was not impressed.
Wilmington turned out to be the place where both Raj and I got our guilty geeky pleasures. Wandering past a bar near the waterfront he spotted that 'Glass Casket' were playing, and I soon discovered this was not good news for me. I sat through six hours of metal music, ranging from average through bad and ugly (Bloodjinn) and came close to being knocked out by a mini mosher. I'm glad Raj enjoyed himself!


So Here I was in dawson creek land - looked like a world of fun! Too my surprise N.C was pretty cool. Highlight of the visit was definately Glass Casket! They were awesome. So I had my fill of insane double bass filled metal, and Izzie got to go stalk the dawsons creek characters - I just cant get over how pretentious dawsons creek is though! What 14 year old needs to find themself through art!?


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Hell's Kitchen, a real pubHell's Kitchen, a real pub
Hell's Kitchen, a real pub

I sat at the bar, Dawson never turned up.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb