We Buy 'em by the Dozen Here!


Advertisement
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Come to think of it, I don’t think I really remember this morning. I’m pretty sure we were in Kentucky though.

Long drive. Kyle rode in the van with us, which was really the first time for a long trip, so that was new. For about 10 minutes, I was hyper and bouncing off the walls, then it got really quiet. Oh yeah, good nap. Kyle wasn’t sure what happened, but Beth and Sarah quickly explained. I woke of for a while, to eat. Oh yes, by the way, it’s Saint Patrick’s Day. He’s the patron saint of Ireland, whatever that means. I asked Kyle why we celebrate and he said, “Any excuse to party.” Does America have a patron saint? Anyway, Kyle brought with him on his iPod Ireland’s Call, which is a bunch of men singing tenor parts to the same song. Kyle joined. Ha! Sarah and I thought it would be fun to learn the words so we can sing along, but then we’d need to learn the song… and Irish… and an accent… and how to harmonize; so we figured it’s best not to. Then he put Queen in, which is not an artist I know well, and he, Sarah, and Beth were harmonizing to it! It was a great music day.

9 or 10 hours of driving, and lots of sleeping. I’m nearing the end of my book, which I’m stoked about. Through Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina. One of my car mates pointed out again the dumbness of the North Carolina trees, and I got back on that horse. Man, they are bad. We came to Mirembe house and I finally met Elsa, one of the African aunties I’ve been hearing so much about. We had a really nice chat.

I ALSO GOT TO MAKE COOKIES!

I made cookies for everyone here (and just plain cookie dough to eat) and some cooked ones. This is where the title came from. I was asking whether or not I needed to buy ingredients, and Craig said, “Eggs? We have eggs! We buy them by the dozen around here!” Rolling.

Everyone watched “Waking Ned Divine” today, except me, but Sarah explained to me a fun scene. Apparently there’s a kid talking to some minister. He said, “Do you work for Jesus?” Yes. “Well, have you ever met him?” No, I’ve never seen him face to face. “Do you get paid?” Well, it’s mostly a spiritual fulfillment. Do you think you could ever been drawn to the church? “No. I don’t think I could work for someone I’ve never met and not get paid. That’s where we are!

Guess what! We did two exciting things today! We unloaded the van AND I have the hiccups! Yea!

Today I learned:
101 useless things about Ireland
and
What Claphamites are
and
In Raleigh, you buy eggs by the dozen
and
A new word- recapitulation
Lots of things today

Advertisement



Tot: 0.378s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 18; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb