Ahh, Sundays


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Lexington
March 17th 2008
Published: March 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Drumming FaceDrumming FaceDrumming Face

Check out Martie's drumming face! (on the right) He always looks like he enjoys it so much when he's performing. Actually, he always seems to enjoy everything.
Today was really early. I’m used to getting up early on Sundays, but usually I don’t have to get 4 children up or rely on someone else for breakfast. I like my Sunday routine and this wasn’t it. But all’s good.

We had three morning services, 8:30, 10, and 11:30. Gross. The kids were exhausted by the end of the second show, with another one to go! Yikes! It was the first church we’ve been to where the had cameras and put them on screens, which was also the first time I noticed how much these kids sweat. The 10 was packed, and the crowed was awesome! The other services were mostly full, but the 11:30 still had lots of energy that the kids were feeding off of. After the third service, Kyle came back to the house with Sarah and I. We watched a movie, which meant Kyle had ongoing commentary, Sarah laughed and giggled (sometimes it’s more fun to watch her than the movie), and I, well, took a nap. I do miss my Sunday afternoon naps. (Wait, I mean intently watching football games.)

We went back for dinner. So, Sarah and I spend a lot of
Fearsome FoursomeFearsome FoursomeFearsome Foursome

Maybe we should have these four come do a drum line?
time together, and we’re both blonde goofballs. One of the kids, Martie, called Sarah “Auntie Jami.” Then said, “Wait. You’re ‘the other Auntie Jami.’” Who is that then (pointing to me)? “The other Auntie Sarah.” Apparently we’re really one person now. It was fun getting to have lots of meals with the kids. This church certainly took good care of us. The last service is for college and post-college-age, so it was much smaller, and it felt like it. There was little energy in the room until the last few numbers.

One of the guys who was at all 5 asked, “how do you manage pulling off 5 different shows?” Well, not on purpose. Yep, each show was different. Apparently, it’s a universal thing to forget to let the techs know details on occasion (this was worse than ever though.) Sometimes we pulled songs, there were new songs, there were entrances and exits from everywere, but never the same place twice. Wow. But it worked! The kids are flexible, and Kyle and I were just laughing to ourselves at the changes. Although, the never-the-sameness was not a good thing. We should have this down enough that in one venue we can do them the same.

That’s the funny thing. Well, not funny, but some other word. Our Journey show (the theatre one) is pretty polished. Then, today, we go to do some church shows, which all of the kids have spent at least 12 months doing, and nothing is there. Prossy sits just off downstage and conducts, so the kids look at her, not the audience, and it looks like all their eyes are closed.

The last service was nice though, because it was the only one with worship. I keep forgetting how thirsty my soul is. And there was communion. It left me begging for more, but I had to go to work.

One of the programming admin’s names is Sarah, and she’s a hoot! We laughed a lot and she went out to ice cream with us. She and our Sarah and I could have just rolled on the floor laughing all day!

I’ll fill you all in on the technical specs of the church soon. I’m tired.

And today I learned a new word- germane. (Thanks, Dale.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.508s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.3401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb