My Impression of Duke


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Durham
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday afternoon, after updating my blog at the library I head out to visit a couple of parks in and around Greensboro in my attempt to make sure my pups stay happy on this trip. Obviously, they're spoiled. We walked through the Bog Gardens, the Bicentennial Gardens and Barber Park; I think that'll do it for a while, at least until Lynchburg.
While I was out I decided to call Duke (only an hour away) to let them know I was in town, to see if I could maybe stop by for a short visit before Sunday. Ms. Barber, the assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies was very friendly and asked that I meet her around 10 the next morning. 10am Thursday, we met and she had taken the time to generate a 2-day itinerary for me. I was thrilled and flattered. So over the past 2 days, I've met with 5 professors and about a dozen students to become better acquainted with Duke's program. I loved it! I didn't expect to; the last time I was here was to see if I would accept a Navy shore duty position as a ROTC instructor at NC State; I wasn't impressed. Duke is very different. The program seemed great, the people friendly, the pace of work/study healthy and the cost of living low. Plus, the weather was mostly sunny; that always helps. So we'll see. Duke being the first university I've visited, I was encouraged and am now looking even more forward to visiting the rest.
On that note, upon reading my email last night and today, I was excited to receive invitations from both UPenn and Boston to come up for recruiting weekends!!!!! Very excited!
I feel like I have much more of a 3-dimensional understanding of Duke's program after visiting. I hope the upcoming visits are as great. Although, it would also be good if only one stood out more from the rest making it easier for me to ultimately choose 😊 As of right now, I could definitely see myself spending the next 5+ years in Durham.
I'm off to Cynthia's for dinner tonight and leave for Lynchburg tomorrow morning. Will catch up more soon 😊

Advertisement



9th February 2008

Stop looking, go to Duke!
Hey Ann, Just want to say hey. I stumbled upon your blog after googling myself -- how vain! (I was checking on media coverage of a case I'm working on.) I've already given you my plug for Duke. It's a serious school but students try not to take themselves too seriously. A friend of mine said that people there "work very hard while not looking like they work very hard." Safe travels. --R P.S. Still waiting on baby 2.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb