When Did You Fall?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Apex
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had a nice long lay-in, did my quiet time, and helped Sarah serve lunch. She made extra-sloppy Sloppy Joes. After lunch, we went to a neighboring church where they’ve been having rehearsals. It’s exactly what you picture when you imagine a small southern church. Small, with a fellowship hall, white building with a dark roof and a steeple, on a small, two-lane road.

Rehearsals went well. They did a full run-through and it was the first one I’ve seen since our last show in Albuquerque. They added some things, and some new costumes, so it was a good time for Kyle and I to watch and take notes and things. Once we started the second act and did the Muije sequence, I got really excited for the show. The kids rocked it. Victor was running around with lots of energy and getting the kids pumped, which is always nice. He also did his whole speech in Luganda, after which I told him they were the wrong lines. He protested, saying he said it correctly, but they were not the lines I had in my script.

While we were cleaning afterwards, I made some comment about the “Church Ladies,” teasing Sarah. She explained to me that they’re not called Church Ladies at her church, but the “Methodist Women” or something like that. I asked Dana if she has Church Ladies but she didn’t understand what I meant. Sarah said, “Of course she does! She’s Baptist! They invented Church Ladies!” I’m pretty sure Kyle’s church has Church Ladies, too. My church is not your typical church with your typical Church Ladies, so things like that are quite interesting to me 😉

Once we were done, we had to go give the church keys back to some guy. Sarah went in to hand over the keys and ran back to the car. Kyle opened the automatic slider and Sarah pretended like she was going to Superman in. I honestly hoped she would because it would’ve been funny. Unfortunately she didn’t. Instead, she tried to jump into the car but missed the floor and totally bit it as she got in! It was pretty freaking hilarious!

Sarah and I walked down to the lake. We did our normal “unpacking” of the day. Generally, when we’re on opposite sides of the country, we talk for a while before going to bed, just about how our day was and what we’re learning and things. Last tour, we realized it’s harder to do that when we’re together, so we have to be extra intentional to do so. It doesn’t happen every day, but I like the days it does.

Wallace and Pat, a couple from the church here, brought their famous chicken for dinner. It’s wonderful! Then Kyle, Dana, Sarah and I went to Kyle’s house (Kyle and Craig live in the guest house next door, so we refer to it as such) for movies and games. We watched Flyboys and played Skip Bo.

I’m not sure how, but Dana has made it her whole life without learning any games, and certainly no card games. She doesn’t know cribbage or gin or anything other than Go Fish and Old Maid. We’ll get her learned! Once she got the hang of it, it was pretty fun- just the girls at this point. Then I won two games in a row (while Sarah was ahead the whole time) and she threw the cards at me. This is when I took her down. I am stronger than she is PLUS she’s really, really ticklish. She had both my hands, but I could still tickle her with my super-pointy elbows. She called to Kyle in the next room, who came in to see what all the fuss was about and said, “Watch out. There’s a Mac behind you.” Good times.

Getting to bed a little earlier tonight. Looking forward to reading more of my new book. P.S. If anyone is trying to get a hold of me, I don’t have very good cell service here in the sticks, but I can check messages and texts depending on where I’m standing. And the internet is sort of being funky, so if I don’t get back to you, that’s why. Soon we’ll be on the road and in civilization.

Oh, and yesterday was the one-year anniversary or me joining the Choir and meeting Sarah and Kyle!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb