Win a Date with Tad Hamilton!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Apex
January 24th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got up early today because last night Kyle said, “You know what would be great to have for breakfast? Pancakes.” So I went to his house and made him breakfast. Sounds sort of familiar. Ruth and Sarah joined us too, and I put chocolate chips in them. Yum.

Sarah and I went to Sam’s club, which is always an adventure. Shopping for 40 is no small task, but Sarah has it down to a science (I just push the cart). We did a few other errands before heading back to the house.

At that point, I did my quiet time and enjoyed a nice little nap. Actually, I was supposed to be packing so we can hit the road tomorrow, but I got a little overwhelmed, so I opted to sleep. Apparently several zillion people knocked on our door and came in to ask questions, but thankfully God has given me the gift of sleep. Light and noise and things don’t bother me in the least! Showering was the next thing on the list. (Not that the humidity isn’t keeping me feeling wet enough as it is.) Packing got finished eventually.

Kyle and I had a date planned for today. Every few weeks, we go out, just the two of us, to catch up and chat and things. Like I do with Sarah, only I do that every day 😉 It was great. We went to Target because he needed shoes, trousers, and sunglasses, but finding trousers for a very tall man is a bit difficult sometimes, unless he were to have a 42 in inseam (which is roughly up to my armpits), so we failed at finding those, but succeeded in the others. And off to dinner. We went to a little Italian joint called Mamma Mia’s and enjoyed some little “garlic knots” which are chunks of bread dough smothered in garlic (to ensure a no-kissing date) and served with marinara sauce. The conversation was good. I missed him over Christmas, and haven’t talked to him much in the last two weeks because of schedules and things.

We then had to take the van through a car wash, which was quite the adventure. We had purchased the wash at one gas station when we filled up, but there was a line, so we opted to eat first (I have never seen a line at a carwash in Spokane). But we ended up at a different service station who let us use it anyway, but again, there was a wait. The woman in front of us had a nice white car that was cleaner than my car EVER gets. It appeared she was having a bit of difficulty with the machine where you punch in your code, and ended up gathering her things and running inside the building. More waiting for us. About 36 minutes after we arrived at the gas station, we left with a clean car. All in all, our date was very nice.

Back to the house for staff devotions. Sarah, Ruth and I were having a hard time not laughing as we were waiting for the others. I ended up with Sarah on my right and Victor on my left. Then David led us in some worship songs. It’s very different because we just sing a cappella. Everyone in the group (except me) has a great musical ear, and everything is in harmonies. It’s beautiful to listen to, but with Sarah and Victor both singing (beautifully) parts that I can’t sing, it’s hard for me to find the melody. Plus I didn’t know some of the songs, but still good. I was a bit surprised at how much my soul needed to just worship. It’s not like I’ve missed church or anything yet, but I was ready. Maybe part of it was knowing that tomorrow the battle starts. Tonight is also David’s last official night as a chaperon; we’ll leave him here tomorrow when we go.

I made quite a mess in the kitchen later. Well, I made cinnamon rolls. I told Sarah that I should be fired and she said, “As soon as Kyle stops eating what you make, you can be fired.” So I guess I’ll just work until I die. It’s okay; I like it. So the cinnamon rolls are done (and the mess cleaned up) and Kyle took the crew over to the school house to show us some videos of an English comedian. Holy cow! His name is Michael McIntyre.
A few “rude” words, but so great. Kyle assured us that we’d be able to understand all of the words, but he was there to explain the jokes to us. It’s in a few segments of video, so we took the time between them to rest our faces- they were hurting so badly! Rolling on the floor.

Tomorrow marks the beginning of tour! We drive a few hours to where we will do a few days of rehearsing before our first show. Please be praying. The show changed a bit, so there will be some recuing for both me and Kyle, plus different spot cues for Sarah. I’m excited to finally see it again though!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb