Taking it slow in the city


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 27th 2015
Published: February 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 5 New York 24thFeb 2015



After a lazy morning I heading into the city again, this time to explore Madison Square Garden. I was lucky as there was going to be an Ice hockey match tonight, I got to see some of the players warming up on the ice. We were brought on a tour of the stadium, saw the VIP suites, even got to sit in a seat in the most expensive suite! After lunch I went down to the river, I went to the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space museum, where I went down into a submarine, there was a film crew on the top deck, so I didn't get to see the space part of the exhibit, they were filming a TV show. It was freezing cold again, so I went across to the next pier to see if the river cruises were able to run. The ice was bad in some parts of the river but I did get to see the city skyline from the river as we bumped and crashed through the ice.



Day 6 New York 25th Feb 2015

This morning it was lovely and warm, well it was -1oC, (I didn't have to wear my scarf over my nose and mouth or have my hat pulled down over my ears and I didn't even wear gloves!!!) compared to some of the days, this was warm. I strolled around the city, looking at all the skyscrapers and watched people skating in the Rockefeller centre for a while, then I headed to Grand Central Terminal, it is an old terminal station, there is still a stair case hidden in the middle of the upped information booth, that was built so the workers could quickly get between floors to help people and give directions, in the time before Google. The ceiling in the terminal is painted as a constellation, now with LEDs as stars, this was cool to see although there is some debate that the constellations are backwards, the Vanderbilt's that built the station commissioned the piece and refused to admit that the painting was wrong.

After leaving the terminal, I headed back towards Bryant park, where I found on the ground floor of one of the banks, an indoor public park, there were older men there playing chess and lots of people of all ages sitting on benches and chairs scattered all over the park, reading and drinking coffee. It was quite and relaxed, all that was missing was birds and the smell of the grass.

Then I went to a huge camera store, they have a conveyor belt high up on the ceiling running all over the store, to bring whatever is requested from warehouse or some else in the store over to where you are. I could have spent a small fortune on camera lenses and such, but all I left with was a new card reader.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb