Its cold, really cold


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 24th 2015
Published: February 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 - Monday 23rd February 2015 New York

This morning started off on a low, first this morning I went to look at my few photos from the last 2 days when the computed told me the card was corrupted 😞 though I googled an there is a way to get the pics back, so might not be too bad, then when I got up and went into the shower, there was no hot water, however I didn't realise this until I was in the shower. I then got the bus into the city, there was a biting wind that promised frostbite to any exposed skin, it was -100C, so I made the brave decision to do some sightseeing from the relative warmth of the many bus tours in New York city. I was waiting on the Brooklyn tour, so instead of standing still being cold, I decided to walk around the corner to the site of the 9/11 memorial. I saw the north and south pools, and the tree that survived. Some of the names of the people killed in the attacks had white roses, on top of there name, it really brought home how fresh it is in the minds of people here today.

Then it was time for the Brooklyn tour, the guide was from Brooklyn, so he told us we would get a true authentic Brooklyn tour. The buses are too high to go across the Brooklyn bridge but this means that as we entered Brooklyn we got a lovely view across the river with the Brooklyn bridge in the foreground, the Statue of Liberty off in the distance and the background filled with the New York skyline. The tour its self was interesting, and I learned many things about Brooklyn I didn't know before, as well as where to go to get pictures of the New York skyline, with out the crowds, the pelxiglass barriers and without paying (the Brooklyn Concourse) how to get pictures of the Statue of Liberty with out paying (the free commuter Staten Island ferry) as well as some places to eat and also where not to!

When this tour ended I was hungry and cold, so I stopped to get coffee and had a sandwich, I realised I had only $8 in my wallet so I went to the ATM, where I totally forgot my pin number for the card (bad things happen in 3's!) and had to find a free wifi network (thank you McD) and see if my brother back home in Ireland (luckily it was only 9.30pm in Ireland at this stage) to see if I had the codes written down somewhere, I did, so everything turned out all right in the end.

It was nearly 6pm (New York time) so I decided to wait for the City Night Tour which was also good. We were again brought to Brooklyn, this time I could see why the Brooklyn guide was so adamant that we all look back at New York from the concourse, it is just as good if not a tiny bit better than the view from the Rockefeller centre. The guide was also knowledgeable and told many stories and anecdotes as we sat in traffic during the tour, as well as pointing out places and things of interest as we passed.

The whole day was freezing cold, and by 8pm I was more than ready to head back to a warm hostel.

Advertisement



24th February 2015

Cold NY
Thanks for the blog. It's like listening to you talk. Brilliant. I now want to visit NY (but will wait till it's warmer!). Xxx Grá
24th February 2015

Cold NY
Thanks for the blog. It's like listening to you talk. Brilliant. I now want to visit NY (but will wait till it's warmer!). Xxx Grá

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb