NYC & the Blue Man Group June 5, 2012


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
June 5th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This trip started off wonderfully. I went with my co-workers and friends. Two of which are travel nurses and their contracts were ending. We started off on the train into NYC. This poor soul though, she makes the commute freq into NYC for NYU. Here she is, probably all of 20 years old. Here we are, four crazy nurses from all over. We got on the topic of some pretty interesting nursing stuff. We had this girl cracking up because of our crazy stories. Some of which came from me because of my time working in the Emergency Department as a Tech. I will save you the details of the topics that were discussed but anyone who KNOWS me, no stone was left unturned. I am pretty open and honest regarding...well....ANYTHING! :-)

We walked around NYC, got lost...you know the usual. :-) Unfortunately this would be the trip that I found out that my mother passed away and was probably 'gone' since June 3rd. My friends were helpful. They even asked me if I wanted to go home and I thought that that was a crazy idea!!! Not because I was not close with my mother but because if we went home (which my current home is not the home my family lives in), what in the world would I do there?!? So tears were shed off and on. I knew her death was coming and even the potential of coming months because she broke her hip and had underlining health issues. People breaking their hips with underlining health issues usually do not live long after the accident.

But we continued onto the Blue Man Group at Astor Theater (I do not see that they have a website). This was the first time seeing this group. It was absolutely fun, funny, and if you have something on your mind-this group will surely take your mind off of it. I was laughing and crying at the same time. This act is great for adults and children alike. The Astor Theater was a small theater, so you could see everything without an issue. On this day a group of kids from a school was in attendance. They were cracking up too. It was just an awesome experience. Something that I would enjoy again and something I definitely recommend to others.

Next our intention was to take a cab to a particular restraunt. However, that did not work out very well and mainly because of me. BUT we did manage to hike the Brooklyn Bridge, which was awesome in itself.

With the news today, everything turned out well. I felt bad for my sister because she had my four nephews and her boyfriend. I, luckily, was surrounded by support and even when I returned home to Connecticut-I was continued to be surrounded by support.

Please note that a lot of the photos were from Regina and not my camera.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Blue Man GroupBlue Man Group
Blue Man Group

LOVE IT!!!!


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb