Breakfast with Marna, Atlantis Sub, and the Arizona Memorial


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
April 30th 2012
Published: December 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


WaikikiWaikikiWaikiki

Plants and wildlife at a hotel within Waikiki.
Today I made plans to meet up with Marna. Her hubby is stationed in Hawaii. I knew Marna from my days in the Emergency Department. She was a nurse, she moved onto Interventional Radiology and then went on to move to Hawaii. It was great meeting up with her and catching up.

After my stop for breakfast with Marna, I went over to Waikiki to go aboard the Atlantis Sub . I really enjoyed it, but as an adult probably would only do it once. I think it is really geared towards the kiddos. But since I do not scuba dive (or I should say, I haven't yet) this is the next best thing and it was reasonably priced. There were many species of fish that were not captured by my camera but I was lucky enough to get the photo of the turtle. :-)

After my time in Waikiki, I managed to go to the Arizona memorial on my last day. I held off this memorial because though I did not know how it would effect me, I knew it would have effected me in one way or another and that it did. It was very emotional. It was sad. It was a real eye opener that we are susceptible to attack and this was years before September 11th. Thought provoking, sad, humble experience of all the lives that were affected from the attack on Pearl Harbor and all the ones that remain there. Definitely worth the trip. I picked up a couple of books at the gift shop, including "Fly Boys" which I have read since my trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

WaikikiWaikiki
Waikiki

Sun bathing turtles....
the Arizonathe Arizona
the Arizona

The Entrance
the Arizonathe Arizona
the Arizona

Memorial for one of the ships/subs that was hit
the Arizonathe Arizona
the Arizona

With the men still inside, the Arizona lies where it was struck.
the Arizonathe Arizona
the Arizona

The flag that flies directly above the plague you just read.
the Arizonathe Arizona
the Arizona

The lives that were lost


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb