Where do I start?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 19th 2012
Published: April 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Where am I?Where am I?Where am I?

Broadway
Wow...what a day! Where do I start?

Slow start - long day yesterday and am getting a cold I think...but not too back at moment.

Decided to be brave and tackle the subway system as had to go Midtown to pick up my Explorer pass that I had purchased on the internet. Seems so easy when you're sitting at home...lol. Anyway, did it (even bought a weekly metro ticket)!! What a buzz but guess what...on way to the subway, saw someone famous. Have no idea what his name is, or what shows he has been in, but is someone I have seen on the telly numerous times. Heck, within 5 minutes ....lol.

Anyway, Midtown is fantastic. Got my Explorer Pass then found my way to the NYC visitor centre then decided to go to the Rockerfeller Observation deck. Fantastic...will upload some pics. Could see Central park surrounded by heaps of buildings..wow. Pics of Empire State Building and could see the Statue of Liberty in the distance. (Might still do the Empire State Building but maybe at night...what do ya think?). Almost bought the kids tshirts from the here (you know that picture of the construction workers having lunch
Proof Proof Proof

Me on top of the Rockerfeller Observation deck
on a beam high above New York).

Had lunch on the sidewalk (oh no...turning into a New Yorker...lol)- Pea & Ham soup and sandwhich (I realise everyone was hanging out to hear what I eat everyday...but even choosing what to eat is fun). Also bought a cheap mobile phone (Kids... will PM the number tonight).

Decided to walk to Grand Central Station. Good idea in theory but perhaps next time might be wiser not to do it in peak hour...lmao. Idea was to catch train to Times Square but was bit overwhelmed by the people at the Station that just stood aside and watched for a few moments. Sooo many tracks, totally confusing...but asked and managed to catch right train.

Times Square...was really only gonna be a point to catch train back home but got distracted. OMG...over the top but mesmerising! Colourful and everyone is walking with the heads up (and mouths open...lol). Might have to come back when its fully dark - perhaps when I go to see Priscilla.

So a full day in the end. Caught the subway back to Upper West Side ...all by myself (didn't have to ask questions....yes am proud of self...lmao).

You know, New York feels much safer to walk around than San Francisco even though its busier. Significantly fewer homeless people so far too.

Have to check the weather channel tonight....need to pick a clear day to book my helicopter flight.

Cheers,

Gillian


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



19th April 2012

Amazing Gill!! Can't imagine how it would feel going for a walk in Central Park, Times Square & actually seeing the Empire State Building & so on..... & I'm in awe of your using the subway & I'm so impressed you stood so close to the windows on the Rockerfeller observation deck! Apparently it's just after 6.30am Thurs in New York so you'll be getting up to another fabulous day soon I suppose. Booked your helicopter flight yet & did you decide on a day or night time one? The kids would have told you they came over last night I suppose, & apart from Brenda being an arsehole all seems well with them. As they were leaving they thanked us for 'being nice' to them....silly buggers, we weren't being nice......we just love 'em! hope you can keep your blogging up, as we are so excited when one comes through.....even though I always feel a bit teary reading them, but that's just me being a big sister/sook! As you say to the kids, have a great time and be safe! Love you xxxx

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb