Museums, Guggenheim, Qantas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
November 6th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

Ok, lots has happened since my last blog..............

I went to the Museum of Natural History (where they filmed Night at the Museum) and spent almost the whole day there, it was fantastic and the kids would have loved it, especially the dinosaur and butterfly exhibits. The museum has the only complete (and real) T-Rex skeleton on display!

That night Mum, Dad and I went to dinner at a lovely French restaurant, db bistro. It was a great way to farewell the oldies as they prepared for Las Vegas. Food was great and the desserts were fantastic.

So Mum and Dad packed up yesterday morning, got in some last minute shopping and off they went. They phoned last night to say they arrived safe and well and are already loving it there.

I left the hotel yesterday morning, met my friends Tina and Jenneen for coffee in SOHO (they flew in Thursday night and has already seen Ivanka Trump and Latoya Jackson). After coffee we caught the subway uptown to the Guggenheim, loved it, fantastic Museum! Then it was onto 5th Ave for a bit of retail therapy before lunch at Fred's Restaurant at Barney's (power lunching with the ladies no less LOL). We shopped until 5pm, just missing Manolo Blanik which might have been a good thing, then had a cocktail at the rooftop bar of the Penincular Hotel. After that it was back to the hotel to change for dinner in Chelsea with Tina and the girls. Lovely dinner done, feeling very exhausted and ready for Brisbane home as I miss Dan and the kids madly, I grabbed a cab and went back to the Marriott.

When I arrived there was a message for me from Qantas........................they cancelled my flight today and have cancelled all direct flights from LA until Tuesday night therefor to get home I have to leave tomorrow night, stop over in Fuji and get back Tuesday!!!!! I called Marriott reception but they advised they are full Saturday night, then I had a panic attack and cried! Anyway, when I managed to somewhat compose myself I called Tina and turns out this hiccup is not such a bad thing afterall. I'm bunking with her in SOHO tonight and her friend pulled out of today's Sex and The City tour so I'm going instead!

Until next time....


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb