Niagara Falls and Canada (10-11)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
October 11th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Niagara FallsNiagara FallsNiagara Falls

Rainbow from Mist
This is the day for Niagara Falls and Canada... I’m looking forward to seeing the falls and crossing over into Canada. The plan is to spend time at the falls and then head to the border to cross over to Canada.

This was also the day I made up my mind that I would go buy a wireless card, so that I could get some blogs posted. I’m getting behind and I’ve got all the blog entries and pictures saved on a flashdrive.

The drive to the Falls from our campground was only about 30 minutes and traffic was not bad at all. The weather was cool and the sun was shining. This makes two days in a row that the sun has blessed our day.

I bought a pedometer, so that I could see how many steps and miles we walked at the Falls. We walked a total of 6727 steps, which equaled 2.97 miles.

After exploring around and taking a ton of pictures, it was time to cross over into Canada. We paid the toll of $3.75 on the USA side and waited in line to show our passport cards. We got to the front
The FallsThe FallsThe Falls

Niagara Falls
of line ---- it was our turn — oh boy, I feel so important and then the question.... do you have anything to declare? What does that mean? It meant that the firewood we had brought from Kansas that was in the back of the truck could not come with us into Canada. Why? Because the firewood could be carrying insects and everyone knows that insects can only travel from one place to another in wood and only in wood?— say what? So we got to wait in line again, only to be told we couldn’t enter and had to go back to the USA side. No more Canada for us on this trip. ;-(

On the way home I stopped and bought my wireless card and we headed back to the campground so I could post the blog.... right? No wrong.... all I could get was a very weak signal and I kept being dropped... and then the big surprise. Somehow in messing with the wireless card and the flashdrive, I lost my pictures and blog entries. Not sure how that happened, but it did and I’m sick about it.

Altogether, it was a wonderful day and
Mist of the FallsMist of the FallsMist of the Falls

Across the falls looking into Canada
I would recommend a trip to the Falls to everyone.

Entertainment of the day - Seeing the Falls.

Question of the day - Why did my flashdrive screw up? Why do insects only travel by way of wood?



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Niagara RiverNiagara River
Niagara River

Rushing river water to the Falls
The Falls to the NorthThe Falls to the North
The Falls to the North

View of the Falls to the North


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb