Oswego to Adams Center


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 9th 2018
Published: August 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I woke up laughing uncontrollably while still on my air Todaymattress in the gym. Ken and Ruth were sleeping in a spot next to me and started their banter early, quickly sucking me in. It was a great way to start the day plus the sun was shining as we headed out of town toward Lake Erie and our destination near Lake Ontario. The weather remained perfect throughout the day with highs in the low 80s. My legs were feeling the 3 previous high mileage days which must be why I justified the sinfully delicious breakfast at Wade’s Diner in Oswego. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, bringing us a huge cinnamon swirl pancake to share as an appetizer. Then we all picked the stuffed cinnamon raisin French toast-2 huge pieces of French toast stuffed w/ cheese, a fried egg and homemade sausage. It was delicious but it definitely slowed me down on the ride - too much food and not enough coffee. We stopped at a convenience store just before lunch and a diet Dr Pepper seemed to help rejuvenate me. Lunch was a delicious gazpacho at a state park with a sandy beach on Lake Ontario. The waves rolled in just like at the coast (not as large) and the water temperature was a surprising 79 degrees. Hard to imagine the locals ice fishing in a few months.
After lunch, we made a side trip to Sacket’s Harbor, a small town on Lake Ontario where there was apparently some naval battle during the War of 1812. The water was beautiful and we stopped for some yummy ice cream before getting back on our bikes to complete our 72 mile day. One final stop at an old cemetery completed the day for Team Lolligag.
After a yummy dinner (and even yummier selection of pies) provided by a local lady who catered the dinner with her friends, I pitched my tent near the high school track. Overnight forecast is for a temperature of 60. Happy to be relaxing in my tent. A lot of the riders are heading to a nearby bar for WiFi but I’ve taken my Benadryl and hoping for some peaceful sleep. Tomorrow we head to Star Lake and the foothills of the Adirondacks. Every day is a new adventure...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Old cemetery Old cemetery
Old cemetery

Old cemetery- some served in the Revolutuonary War


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb