Salamanca Antique Mall Co-Op and Beyond


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Salamanca
June 18th 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Our day began early because I was fasting. Not part of a diet plan but should be. I had blood work done at the Olean Medical Group for my upcoming routine doctor's appointment next week. As I suffered the agony of the sharp spear, the three musketeers went off for a relaxing breakfast. That's okay; I'm used to suffering. I'll just lick my wounds for nourishment. Our destination today is the Salamanca Antique Mall Co-Op. This is where we have a booth and a case full of our wares we wishfully hope to sell. Some months are better than others but so far, it has been worth the drive and time to keep it up. Before I get too involved in the day's activities, I have to share a special surprise we received yesterday. This past week has held a multitude of surprises. It's a wonder we are not in a complete state of shock and non-functioning. We received a package in the mail from our Tropical Palms friends: Judy and Jeff. OMG....Lulu passed out from excitement. It is a T-Shirt from "Lulu's" in Alabama. They had stopped here on their way home from Tropical Palms and thought of you-know-who: LULU.
Lulu in all her GloryLulu in all her GloryLulu in all her Glory

Famous!! Thanks to Judy & Jeff
What a thrill. She thinks she's famous now and is acting like a real diva! Thank you so much, Judy & Jeff. You made our day and Lulu's dream. THERE ARE GOOD SHIPS & WOOD SHIPS BUT THE BEST SHIP IS FRIENDSHIP. What good friends you are! We'll see you in January and you'll see us easily: wearing the "Lulu" shirt. Love it and you, too!

The satiated trio returned for me: sitting on the bench in front of the medical building - licking my wound. A cup of coffee was offered and I was healed. As we traversed the many miles onward to the Co-Op, Sam & Sandy both agreed that we really had to travel a long ways to get anywhere. Pretty scenery but nothing much to see. So true! Welcome to our neck of the woods. Once there, we hauled in a few items to stock our booth. A little straightening up and it was good to go. So much easier now that we have the millions of smalls out of the booth. Sales are a little less because we sold MANY smalls each month but I think we will still do okay. Sam scootered around at ramming speed to ensure he saw it all. This Co-Op has over 1,000 dealers so he covered a large area in rapid time. Next stop: my favorite!!...Wal-Mart in Olean, N.Y. Hadn't been in one for awhile so I had to go at ramming speed, also, to get around and still Cory thought I took long. It was worth it.

Lunch was at the Beef n'Barrel restaurant. It is one of the best and favorite places of all in Olean. Sandy & I got the specialty: Beef on Weck. Tasty...plus it provided us another opportunity to have our toast. What fun! Dinnertime brought us to Downtown Shongo at Guenter's place for a steak dinner. How much better could it get? I don't think any. Good Food, Good Friends, Good Times. The sun shines bright.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Our Case at our BoothOur Case at our Booth
Our Case at our Booth

Filled to capacity
Beef On WeckBeef On Weck
Beef On Weck

I like my roast beef medium rare.
Dining in ShongoDining in Shongo
Dining in Shongo

The Grillmasters


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb