Game Plan (IMPORTANT!)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
September 19th 2015
Published: September 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Euro routeEuro routeEuro route

The route I will be taking through Europe. ZigZag!

Travel Plan


Sept 21st I will fly out of New York at 11pm EST and arrive Sept 22nd in London at 11am BST. The flight duration will be approximately 7 hours and 10 minutes.



The destinations are as follows:

Sept 22, 23, 24 - London

Sept 25, 26 - Paris

Sept 27, 28 - Amsterdam

Sept 29, 30 - Grindelwald

Oct 1, 2 - Munich

Oct 2, 4 - Rome

I will then be flying from Rome back to London for a day and then back to New York. The original plan was to stop in Iceland, but time is not going to permit that right now. Next time. I was also originally set to go to Copenhagen instead of Grindelwald, but again time constraints have altered the plan. I will instead be spending two days hiking on the Alps. When looking for flights I strongly recommend using Kayak. In my experience they will get you the cheapest prices with the least hassle. I'd also strongly recommend, especially when traveling overseas, purchasing their insurance plan. It is usually around $20 extra and will save you tons of grief if anything should go wrong with your flight; including delays, cancellations, or other acts of nature. They also give you coverage throughout your trip for medical, dental, and theft. It's a very worthwhile investment.

Another good investment is a Eurorail Pass (buy it on RailEurope.com and save money!). There are different options depending on your trip and if you're 25 or younger you get a 35%!d(MISSING)iscount! All the more reason to travel sooner rather than later! You can hop pretty much any train in the continent with one of these bad boys. Try to but one in advance as it's cheaper and easier to order them online. You can also have them mailed to your hostel or where ever you're staying. If you have a long distance to go and want to save time try checking some flights. You can find some good deals between European countries in the range of $50-60 a flight.

Game Plan




In addition to the stereotypical touristy things I have some other things I want to do. Here's a very tentative list (I definitely want to leave time for random adventures) by city of things I want to do/see on my trip. I will edit this post and cross them off as I do them.



LONDON


Tower of London - Definitely need to see this. Probably one of the most badass things in the city.
Buckingham Palace - I can't resist the urge to fuck with the guards. Hehe.
Big Ben - By extension, and I'd love to get some photos.
London Dungeon - Cuz Danzig and stuff. And also the crazy history. That too.
Tower Bridge - PHOTOOOOOS


The rest of the time I'll probably just explore a bit. I'm also meeting a friend so I'm sure he'll have some recommendations (which I'll be sure to post). Last but not least, on the 24th we will be driving out to DISMALAND!!!!!!!!!!!! I will probably bombard you with photos and videos of that. It's honestly one of the reasons I planned this trip.

PARIS


Moulin Rouge - I'm staying right by it so I might as well check it out. At least for a photo or two.
Eiffel Tower - Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Musee du Louvre - Yup.
Le Marais - Just sounds cool.



This is one of those cities I'm just going to spend lots of time walking around and exploring. I don't think you can go wrong no matter where you go. I'm also meeting a friend again so she'll know all the good spots.

AMSTERDAM

This one is pretty self explanatory.

GRINDELWALD

You've probably never heard of this small town as I haven't either until researching the trip, but it's located in Switzerland and sits on the base of the Jungfraujoch which is a huge peak on the Swiss Alps. There's lots of great hiking/climbing which is what I'll be doing there for two days. This is honestly one thing that I'm most excited about.

MUNICH

OKTOBERFEST OKTOBERFEST OKTOBERFEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That's probably all I'll do. I might walk around a bit the first day but I will at least spend an entire day at the fest devouring bratwurst and drowning in liters of beer.

ROME


Porta Portese - I'll be there on a Sunday so there's no reason not to check this out. Basically a giant weekly flea market.
Colosseum - Yeah.
Pantheon - Yup.
The Forum - A funny thing happened on the way there.
Trevi Fountain - Sigh.
Swim in the Mediterranean Sea - We'll "sea".



There's so much in Rome I doubt I'll be able to get to it all. I just really want to jump in the Mediterranean.

Advertisement



20th September 2015

Bon Voyage!
DISMALAND!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb