Back in the concrete jungle - NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
June 1st 2011
Published: June 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in my favourite city on Tuesday afternoon and it was stinking hot. I thought I would walk from Penn station to my hotel on W 51st Street to soak in the buzz and atmosphere of this great city. I manage to do that but also must have sweated a few litres and was stinky by the time I arrived at the hotel. The humidity was high and me having a large backpack meant there was no air getting to my back and my shirt was completely soaked at the 16 block walk north. My hotel room here is relatively small as per NYC standard but it is clean and close to Times Square and a single block from the Blue subway line. Convenience at it's best.

I did some wandering around my immediate neighbourhood which was in Hell's Kitchen and there are plenty of eateries just down the street on the multicultural 9th Ave. I'm sure I'll be dining down there more than once during my stay here. I then made my way out to the ever busy Times Square, grabbed a slice of dirty pizza and sat on the steps overlooking the square and just soaked in the buzz. I know it sounds strange, but I was at one of the most iconic and hectic places on earth and yet everything was peaceful to me? It was all a little surreal and I could sit here on hours doing absolutely nothing but checking out the human traffic and absorbing the noise.

A late dinner beckoned on 9th Ave at a Thai place with a funky bar and some pretty waitresses. They do mix a strong cocktail but at least they give you an appetizer with each cocktail - responsible service of alcohol??? Watched the first half of the Heats and Mavs NBA finals game 1 before heading back to the hotel and watching the end of the game in the quiet of my room.







Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb