New York! New York!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
August 4th 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Statue of LibertyStatue of LibertyStatue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty shining brightly.
02Aug07 - New York -

I've finally arrived at the Ramada in Jersey City after riding the Tatonic Parkway from upstate New York and slowly roasting at snails pace crossing the George Washington Bridge. I'm so burnt out from the heat I nap the rest of the day away. I'm determined to make the most of my remaining two days in New York so I've devised a plan to see as much of the city.

03Aug07 -
Hopped on the PATH train at Journal Square for the 33rd street station. From there I walk to the Empire State Building to get a view of the city before venturing off.

The best purchase of my trip was for the "Express Pass" to the observation deck in the Empire State Building. When I show up at the entrance, there's are 200 people line up outside to get into the building. I ask the security guard where the "Express Pass" line up starts and he says there isn't, opens the door and lets me into the building. SWEET! I then bypass 150 people in line for security checks, the 200 people in lining up to buy tickets, the 100 people lining
Statue of LibertyStatue of LibertyStatue of Liberty

Picture of the Statue of Liberty from the ferry.
up for the first set of elevators and then the 250 people in line for the second set of elevators. I went from the street to the observation deck in under 18 minutes where most people spent 2 hours! The looks I got from people while receiving the rockstar treatment was hilarious.

I walked a loop starting from the Empire State Building to the reservior in Central Park and back to the PATH station. Allong the way I passed the Rocherfella Center, Broadway, Time Square and the Ed Sullivan building. My feet was swollen and sore from all the walking but I saw a lot!

04Aug07 -
Hopped on the PATH train at Journal Square to the World Trade Centre station. Visited Ground Zero then took the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty.

Speed sightseeing has left my memories of the visit blurry. I look at the pictures and still can't believe I visited all these iconic places.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Manhatten from Statue of Liberty ParkManhatten from Statue of Liberty Park
Manhatten from Statue of Liberty Park

Picture of Manhatten taken from the Statue of Liberty Park. Also captured the Circle Line ferry.
Ellis IslandEllis Island
Ellis Island

Ellis Island where thousands of immigrants from europe passed through. The museum is amazing.
Brooklyn BridgeBrooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Bridge

Pssst, hey wanna buy this bridge. I'm gonna post it on Craigs list.
John Lennon "Imagine"John Lennon "Imagine"
John Lennon "Imagine"

There's area in Central Park named Strawberry Fields near where John was sho outside his apartment.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb