Peace Out in Woodstock


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Woodstock
July 31st 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Richocet BusRichocet BusRichocet Bus

This bus was blasting 60s music late into the evening.
31Jul07 - Rode from Saratoga Springs through the Catskills Mountain to Woodstock -

I was gorgeous ride through the Catskills mountains where it is covered with farm land and parks. Eventually I made my way to Woodstook which is an hour away from where the actually Woodstock Music Festival took place. I liked it so much I decide to stay two nights here before riding to New York city.


Until I visited Woodstook, I could never understand why people would go to great lengths to reenact civil war battles in full costume uniforms, firing blank muskets and cannons. I felt like I was transported back into the 60s.

The surreal moment for me was when an old Honda motorcycle puttered down the street past a couple in full hippee dress (complete with the cutoff jeans, tied-dyed T-shirt leather sandals and long hair) all to the soundtrack of Jimi Hendrix's "Watchtower", playing over the restaurant stereo. I felt like standing up and yelling at the hippees in my rightwing authoritative voice "Get a haircut and a job you bums!"

The neighbour across from Twin Gables (where I was staying) was trying to woo girls with an acoustic
Fashionably HippieFashionably HippieFashionably Hippie

The shops are not the thrify stores of the 60s, but more like (and price like) upscale fashion boutiques.
guitar rendition of "Stairway to Heaven", reggie style. :-O I have to say I was impressed with the guitar solo.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/22124896

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb