The Slow Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
November 4th 2014
Published: November 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

When my parents dropped me off at the airport to leave for Ecuador we all choked back tears and then failed as we separated at the security gate: me on an adventure of independence and them to go back to life as usual, but without their baby.

This trip has had such a gradual departure it's lost the surreal air a big adventure can have. Somewhere between the bus ride from Philly and arriving at JFK 6 hours early for our triple delayed flight, the excitement became something more natural. What hasn't changed though is that this is still a journey towards claiming independence and embracing my freedom.

With only a backpack and a friend in tow, I'm sooo ready for this this. It may be an escape, a break, a taste... I'm not trying to label the intention. I've tried my best not to overplan. My minimalist packing attempts actually followed through (yea, I'm surprised too).

I decided not to bring a camera with me. My iPhone takes great photos and the limited space will force me to be more scrutinizing of what I photograph. In turn, I'll be more mindful and present. Experience the moment and remember the feelings rather than trying to recapture it with a photo. Don't worry, you'll still get photos😊

So, another 2 hours here at the airport, 20-something hours to Bejing, and arriving in Phuket sometime around 1:00am on Thursday. That night is Loy Krathong (Full moon festival). OOOH, it's starting to feel surreal again :D

Let the adventure commence!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb