Witnessing Culture Shock


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 8th 2014
Published: November 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast @ Surin BeachBreakfast @ Surin BeachBreakfast @ Surin Beach

Quick breakfast at Surin Beach before the storm, giant waves, swimming with hunks in speedos, and yoga on the beach!
Somehow this is only my third day here.

Culture shock time (wave 1). Basically, it comes about when my normal is different from the local normal. Pretty simple, right? Despite going into a situation with an open mind, it's way to be overwhelmed by the differences simply because our monkey minds don't know exactly how to process the information and react according to the new normal. With that awareness, I'm trying to witness each "shock" and mindfully acknowledge it with patience and as a teacher. It's easier when we don't battle what IS.

- Sex Tourism: had I done a little more research I would have known beforehand that the area if Phuket we are in is best known for its party life and sex tourism. Old, white men towing around a purchased Thai girlfriend for the day. My first reaction is disgust. Guess there's a lot to be explored there. The girls seem to be having fun and are being treated nicely, and I guess I have to not judge the men so harshly without knowing their story. The Walking Street (Balang?) lights up at night with all forms of debauchery, especially super scantily clad beautiful women and
Patong Beach SunsetPatong Beach SunsetPatong Beach Sunset

Patong Beach Sunset
ladyboys. Oh! The ladyboys are GORGEOUS! I truly can't tell who is who. All the Thai women are beautiful though; They care a lot about how they look and put a lot of effort into it. I'm taking notes on the femininity.
- Bidets: this isnt entirely new, just takes some getting used to. Ecuador prepared me for the idea of no toilet paper in bathrooms. This is actually easier bc there's always a bidet and it feels refreshing with all the humidity.
- Vegetarians & Vegans don't exist: thinkin this is particular to Phuket, bc I think Chiang Mai is a vegan heaven, but I haven't yet been able to order food and get something vegan and with protein. In fact, yesterday I got super excited to see pad see ew tofu and somehow I ended up with seafood instead. Thank god for Indian food being easy to find and $4. I've been eating most of my meals myself bc Kristen's appetite went away with the heat.
- Communication: I'm used to being able to speak the language enough to get across general needs and niceties, so it's been rough here. I find myself thinking in Spanish (totally useless). Fortunately, English is the common language so even the Germans, Chinese, and French are speaking butchered versions of English. So am I since the extra words just confuse people. I've learned a butchered version of "hello", "thank you" and "no".
-Street Vendors: our first full day was for the festival of Loi Krathong and I think they were extra on their game, but the vendors are like vultures. Making you feel bad for not looking or buying. Even restaurants send hawks out to the street to try convincing you that you're hungry. It doesn't help that every 100 feet includes a restaurant, salon, AND shop. Throw in the taxis,bar girls, and travel agents and it gets old fast. Thais are super friendly so you can't even get mad and flip the bird bc they are really doing it with kindness.
- No Rules: no traffic lights or signs, vendors anywhere, motorbikes everywhere, no driving or drinking age, collared dogs roam free. It works out though bc the Thais really are nice and don't seem to be testosterone driven. Just makes it tough to know what to expect and how to behave.
- Coffee: I forgot. Unless specified Thai coffee is about 4 oz with 2 teaspoons sugar and condensed milk.

That's enough for now. I'm not overwhelmed much, maybe this morning when I had yet another communication mishap related to food, but then I smiled at it and realized its all good.

I thoroughly enjoyed the $12 facial, $10 massage, and $0.50 coffee. The mall, Jungceylon, is amazing and HUGE. The beach is clear. Locals are friendly.

Notes for later: face bleaching. Irony of Loi Krathong. Thais think 86F is cold. Slipped and hurt my shoulder. Want to rent a motorbike.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb