!Rihla #18-"Is GPS All in Our Heads?"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 18th 2013
Published: February 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. Now that we live in the twenty-first century do we rely on gps too much? By using GPS, we are underestimating the power of the human brain because we are capable of developing a mental map in our heads. We rely too much on technology and, therefore, do not learn as effieciently as if we were learning landmarks and roads by ourselves.

2. When I was reading this, I remember telling my dad that when I get my car, I NEED a gps because I was going to get lost all the time. Now I'm a little hesitant about getting one. I think it is better for me and for the development of my mind, but then again I do not want to get lost.

3. This relates to our class because the early explorers had to have cognative maps so they can get back to where they came from, or so they could learn how to travel the same way and come back for what ever they need.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb