Day 48: NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I slept in again (I know, shock horror right?), but since I had an ice hockey game to see at 12.30pm, I figured I wouldnt be doing much in the morning anyway. I headed over to Madison Square Garden around 11.30am so I could see a bit of the pre-game stuff. The arena is pretty nice, but apart from its location, I dont actually see what the big deal is. It's no better than any other stadium I've been to, in fact I'd say it is quite outdated compared to others. Anyway, the game was so much fun. I dont know how, but the tickes I bought seemed to be in a really exclusive section. We had padded seats and flat screen tv's in the front row (I was in row 2) that the fans could change to whatever channel they wanted. It was actually a close game, but the Rangers beat the Capitals 3-2. This is the first time I've ever seen so many fans with the goalie's number on their jersey, but during the game I worked out why. He was amazing, he gloved so many pucks during the game and was nearly impossible to shoot past.

After the game I went to this little Indian restaurant I had heard about. Pasically they prepare a dish and wrap it in naan, so it is like an Indian Souvlaki. It was a bit strange at first, but it was really yummy. After lunch I headed back to the hotel to pick up a pair of jeans to trade in. Yep, you read it right. There is a shop called Aeropostale that has a special going where you trde your jeans in and get 25% off a new pair. Your old pair then gets donated to kids in need. I was considering throwing my old jeans away because I had to fix the pockets too many times, but I figured this would be a better option. I also did a spot of tourist shopping before I headed home. One good thing I did see (well, maybe weird, but at least famous) was the Naked Cowboy of Times Square. He was hanging out, taking photos with tourists. He must have been so cold!

I chilled out in my room for an hour or so before I went to the top of the Empire State Building....at night! It was amazing, the views were so nice. there was something just really special about it. With the lights, you could actually see the shape of Manhattan, bordered by the East River and the Hudson River. One problem was it was so cold up there. I mean, it is the coldest I've ever been. Ive done a pub crawl through Berlin in -12 degree celcius, but this was something else. The wind was brutal! I walked down one side of the building and had to go inside. I couldnt feel my face. It was horrible, yet amazing at the same time.

On the way home I picked up some pizza and had a night in. Tomorrow is my last full day in NYC and I dont really have plans. I will go and see Grand Central Station and send a package home, but other than that I'll just wander around and explore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb