Day 47: NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 12th 2012
Published: February 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had a bit of a quiet day today. It seems I just cant have two full on days in a row, my body just wont allow it. Today I headed out to the Staten Island Ferry to get a close up of the Statue of Liberty. Turns out the ferry doesnt get really close, but considering it is free, it is still worthwhile. One problem was it was freezing out on the deck. I pretty much just went outside, took a couple of photos and then went back inside to look out from the windows. Once at Staten Island, I didnt really want to do anything, so I just went outside and took a photo looking back towards Manhattan. Not only could you see Manhattan, but also New Jersey and Brooklyn. Its amazing to think how many people live in just this area, and how many buildings they can fit in such a small space. On the way back on the ferry you get a really nice view of Manhattan, but it was a bit too foggy today to get a real appreciation of it.

Once I arrived back to Manhattan I took the metro down to the Flatiron Building, which is the famous triangular shaped building. It was cool to see, but there isnt really anything to do there, unless you want to go shopping. I decided to walk the 20 odd blocks home along Broadway, which is a street I hadn't properly explored. I had expected to find somewhere nice for lunch along here, but all I found was knock off jewelry, watch and perfume shops. Definitely good to go to if you want some cheap, and totally fake merchandise, but I was hungry so it was no help at all. I ended up walking all the way back to the hotel and getting a slice of pizza and some yogurt at the deli across from my hotel. It definitely hit the spot, it was well past lunch time by this stage.

I thought I was going to spend the night in and just get something quick for dinner, but I decided to go out for dinner. I ended up craving some Asian food, which is unusual for me. I ended up at an "Asian Fusion" restaurant. I think it was just an excuse for them to serve all different asian foods in one place to be honest. I ordered Pad Thai and it was good, but not as good as I've had at home.

Tomorrow I've got tickets for a hockey game, and I'm hoping to go to the top of the Empire State Building by night, since I didnt see the Top of the Rock at night. Hopefully It will be amazing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb