Day 44: NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 9th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What I didn't do yesterday I certainly made up for today. I got up at a reasonable hour today, not too early, but it was still morning at least. I had decided to head out to the Financial District and check it out, but I ended up doing much more. Firstly I headed down to Wall St. on the subway. I accidentally got on an express service, which worked out well since the express service stops at Wall St. anyway. To be honest, there isnt much to see on Wall St. unless you are really into money related things (other than spending it). I went to Trinity Church, which became famous as a refuge for emergency service workers during the 9/11 crisis. From here it was only natural that I headed over to the 9/11 memorial. Apparently you are meant to book online before you go, but I just rocked up and they let me straight in on their "stand-by list". The memorial was fantastic. It is just two pools of water that represent the bases of the two towers, with waterfalls going into the pools. The names of those lost are engraved in bronge atound the pools. It is so simple but beautiful.

Next on the agenda (which I was making up as I was going) was to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. It was a nice walk, but really cold. One thing that kind of worried me was it looked like some of the bridge was being held together by duct tape. Seriously, it went on for about 200m. Anyway, the view of the Manhattan skyline was really nice from the bridge. I was a bit hungry by this stage so I headed over to Katz's Deli, home of the famous scene from "Where Harry Met Sally". I ordered a pastrami on rye. It was the biggest sandwich I have ever seen, I couldnt finish it, it was ridiculous. You would think I'd be used to the serving sizes by now, but I'm still not.

I noticed the Friends apartment building was close, so I decided to ehad on over. On my way, a sign caught my eye. Wooster St. Home of NY Ink. I went over for a look around and decided to see if Tim Hendricks was in to get a tattoo done by him.He wasnt in but Ami James was. He walked up behind me and asked my why I didnt want a tattoo by him. We talked for about 5 mins, I asked for a photo but he says he only does them for clients, otherwise everyone would want one. I ended up making it over to the Friends apartment building, where I called home to brag about my awesome day. It was about 3.15pm by now so I decided to walk home, which took about 45 mins.

I was catching up with Moe and Robyn for dinner, then meeting Nikki for a Broadway show: Avenue Q. It was an adult version of the Muppets. It was so funny. They touched on subjects like sex, racism and homosexuality. It was hilarious, not to mention the lead girl, who had the most amazing voice. It was well worth the money to go and see. After the show we met up with Phil and Anthony, as well as Anna and Chris and had a couple of drinks. It was still not too late of a night.

Tomorrow I'm going to try and get a hop on hop off ticket and head up to Harlem, but if that fails I'll just head to Central Park for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb