Day 42: Washington DC - New York City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 8th 2012
Published: February 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last day of Contiki, which is not a day I was looking forward to. However, going to both Philadelphia and New York City in one day was going to be awesome.

Bags to coach for the last time! Our first stop was the Annapolis Naval Academy. The buildings were amazing, it is totally not what you would expect out of a university. Our tour guide was funny too, he was in a good mood because the Giants had won the Superbowl yesterday. Every time he saw a student in uniform he would grab them so the girls could get a photo with them.

Next we had a short drive to Philadelphia. We spent two hours here, so it was just enough time to get a Philly Cheese Steak (yummy), pick up some souveniers and go and see the Liberty Bell. I tried to go to Mac's Tavern, which is a replica of Paddy's Pub from the show "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia". Unfortunately it wasnt open, but I did get a photo of the inside. We also made a stop at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, famous for being the spot of "The Rocky Steps". Of course I had to run up them and do the little jump at the top.

Our final drive was into NYC. We arrived around 5pm and headed to our various hotels, but we had all decided to go out as a group for one final time. In the spare time I had I took a wander around Times Square, which is only half a block from my hotel. It is amazing. Bright lights just as you would imagine, restaurant and stores open all night. It was surreal. Anyway, I headed over to a bar for the final Contiki outing. I'm not going to lie, I did get very emotional as I was saying goodbye to people for the last time, even if I knew I'd see them again.

Tomorrow I dont plan to do much, just want to catch up on sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb