Hugh Jackman Back on Broadway


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 5th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

You know the phrase "I'd pay to see him read the phonebook"? Well, I've decided that there isn't anyone I'd pay to read the phonebook. If I'm paying over 100 dollars, I want more than phonebook reading. And at Hugh Jackman Back on Broadway, I got a bit more than that, but only a bit. There were some wonderful moments in the show, including his strolling on stage singing "Oh What a Beautiful Morning" and the act one closer of "Soliloquy" from Carousel. He was also excellent slipping back into the character of Peter Allen for part of the second act (even if the gold lame pants didn't really fit too well).

But a lot of the time when Hugh was singing, I was watching the on-stage orchestra. And when he started telling his stories, I tried to listen, but after a while, I just felt my mind wandering and thinking to myself, "stop talking and go back o singing." And when he did, I was very happy.

All in all, I'm glad we went to the show, especially since I had decent seats, but I am happy that his next outing on Broadway will be as a character, not as himself.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb