What a difference the lead makes (and maybe the first 10 minutes)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 5th 2011
Published: December 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After seeing Memphis for the first time, I did not recommend it to friends. But now, after seeing it a second time, I will actually recommend it. The main reason for the change? Adam Pascal is now playing Huey Calhoun. But there might be a secondary reason. Due to some mess up by the theater last time, we missed the first few minutes of the show and had to stand for part of the opening. Which may have colored my feelings of the show, but I think I was trying to give it a fair shake even so.

I don't want to spend this time contrasting Chad Kimball, the original Huey, to the new one, so I'll just try and review today's show on it's own merits.

Memphis tells the story of Huey Calhoun, a man who loves music and finds his way to a club on Beale Street. A club where he is the only white patron. But Huey is a unique person, seemingly colorblind, and he manages to convince the club's denizens to trust him. His entry into this world helps him find a job on the radio and as his professional life improves, he starts a romantic relationship with the club owner's sister and lead singer, Felicia (Montego Glover). Unfortunately, this is Memphis of the 1950's and the course of true love doesn't run smooth. A number of people are against the relationship, most notably Huey's mother and Felicia's brother Delray and there are scenes where things get ugly.

As I mentioned, Adam Pascal has taken over the role of Huey, and he commands the stage when on it. Even when he wasn't the person doing the talking or singing, I tended to watch him. Also fun to watch was Derrick Baskin as Gator, the bartender and James Monroe Inglehart as Bobby. We saw an understudy as Delray and I enjoyed him more than the original, I felt he had more of a believable edge to him. The weakest link in the cast for me is Montego Glover's Felicia. While she and Adam have a believable chemistry, I found her strident and not didn't really root for her.

She also is the worst victim of an annoying directorial choice. Too many of the musical numbers end with the singer(s) standing downstage center belting to the rafters.

The show is heavy on dancing, and a couple of numbers run a little long for my taste, but the ensemble and dancers are so good that I could easily ride out those more boring moments.

I don't know how long Adam Pascal will be in the show, but if you're going to catch Memphis, make sure you do it with him.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb