Hey, NYC...wazza!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 11th 2010
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Although I am absolutely in love (like crazy, obsessed, eternally in love) with my own country (Canada, I “heart” you). Let me start by saying I hold a genuinely fond place in my heart for travelling all aboot America. Not only are they fine neighbours, but they’ve got loads of great stuff to see and do (as a semi-related aside, of all the trips I’ve taken pre-blog, one of the best was a road trip through the American Southwest – you should *so* do that by the way).

Considering my fondness for our neighbours to the south, and being that I am a measly 8 hour drive from the Big Apple, it does surprise me that I haven’t been to New York until now. Of course, I hardly travel anywhere without T, cousin and BFF extraordinaire, so it should go without saying that I weren’t alone in this one.

So here we find ourselves – in NYC for an extra long weekend (four glorious days - well, more like three in the actual city because the rest of the time we spent driving there and back) and damn if it isn’t as cool as everyone says (and they all
Cabs aboundCabs aboundCabs abound

Now where were these when we needed them?
say it – don’t kid yourself). To get there, we drove most of the way and, on some great advice, parked the car for the weekend just outside the city and took a commuter train into Grand Central terminal (I know, awesome, right?). Now, what no one told us was that because we arrived in the city just as everyone was leaving work, there wasn’t a taxi to be found anywhere. It’s not like that in the movies…where is the sea of yellow cabs??? Fortunately, our hotel wasn’t too far off – a mere 15 minute walk from the terminal to just south of Central Park (at 6th and 54th) - so we hoofed it.

The location was great for us since it was walking distance to most stuff we wanted to see. This turned out to be tremendously helpful since that’s what we did. We walked. And then walked. It’s possible I managed to slow the pace to a casual stroll at some point, but it would have been followed by some more actual walking. It was, I must say, exhausting but without a doubt the best way to see the city.

My beloved brother, who had already been to New York, told me to expect that it would feel familiar even on a first visit. And he was completely right – it’s represented on TV or in film so much tons of it was recognizable. A curious phenomenon. Usually acknowledged by me exclaiming something along the lines of “oh my jeezus – I totally saw that building on Law and Order: SVU”. Which I'm sure I did. I think. No, yeah, yeah for sure.

Coming up next: famous people’s junk looks just like regular people’s junk.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb