Emily's last days...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 19th 2011
Published: May 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

John's - Monday, May 16John's - Monday, May 16John's - Monday, May 16

Best brick oven pizza ever!
Wednesday started with a trip to the Village to eat lunch at Cozy's, the restaurant Emily told me about in the first place, as you may recall. The guys in the picture were just walking by and started posing! It was so funny! They asked me not to show the picture to Mayor Bloomberg so he wouldn't know what his brothers were up to! Emily and I split another cheeseburger and it dawned on me that I have now had enough cheeseburgers in NY to have a fairly good contest! So far Roxy wins but I'll post all of the results soon!

After lunch we headed back to Times Square and had dessert at the Stardust Diner. What fun! The wait staff sings karaoke while they serve and they are all really good. Once again the amount of talent in this town amazes me. And the desserts...OMG, wonderful. Emily had a chocolate malt (black and white, that is!) and I had a brownie sundae. We are eating our way through NY for sure!

After dessert we went to see "Wicked" which was wonderful again! We had great seats and so much fun! So Emily has seen four Broadway plays in a week with a wide range of subjects, and loved every one!!

Wednesday night we parted ways, with Emily meeting up with a friend from high school, Emily Hughes, who lives here now, and me going to "Anything Goes." I accidentally bought a ticket for this Wednesday instead of last Wednesday which I thought I was buying, and discovered it too late. But it worked out OK and the play was just great! An older play, of course, with Joel Gray and Jessica Walters as familiar faces, incredible younger talent as well, and nominations for several Tonys as a revival. A weird touch was I was surrounded by Episcopal priests, three Bishops, and many delegates, as, I found out, the NY diocese is having their convention and many ended up at this play. Perhaps because Joel Gray's character is pretending to be a priest? Anyway...I felt in good company!

On my way home, I stopped to chat with the firefighters at my local station that I walk by everyday. We had a great time and they were very sweet!

Emily stayed out very late with Emily, in the East Village, and slept in today. I took the subway uptown to Lincoln Center to look around and try to get play tickets to no avail, but I ran across the Julliard School which I had never seen before. The complex at Lincoln Center with the ballet, symphony, plays, etc. is just beautiful.

When I got back, Emily and I ate outside at Blockhead's where she had previously seen Chris Noth, aka Mr. Big aka Peter Florrick, but we had no celebrity sightings. Obviously the weather was better but still pretty chilly when the sun went behind the clouds but it was good to at least be dry, and to able to sit outside for a while.

By 6 PM she was in a cab headed for LaGuardia, only to have her flight delayed almost two hours, so she is in the air even as I type.

I went to see "Mamma Mia," one of my all time favorite plays, and except for a practically dead audience, it was wonderful! I remember the first time I saw it on Broadway with all my kids, and even at the Walton Arts Center with Pamela, the audience was on its feet and dancing in the aisles, at
The Stardust Diner - Wednesday, May 18The Stardust Diner - Wednesday, May 18The Stardust Diner - Wednesday, May 18

Singing waiters and killer desserts!
the end. Tonight there was a very feeble standing ovation at the very, very end, with about one tenth of the audience standing. I don't get these audiences...

One thing I love in the theater district is when St. Malachy's, a Catholic Church, who bills itself as "the Actor's Chapel" plays "There's No Business Like Show Business" on chimes, every day before matinees and evening shows. It just love that! The Chapel is right on 49th between 8th and Broadway so I pass it all the time. It's just so cool to be in the area that is all about theater. Today I saw my 30th play...

Do you think it's coincidental that my last day to live in NY is May 21, when the world is supposed to end?






Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

What can I say?What can I say?
What can I say?

You never know what you're going to see in Times Square...
Blockhead'sBlockhead's
Blockhead's

In the Worldwide Plaza complex where I live. Great tacos! No Mr. Big today...
May 19, 2011May 19, 2011
May 19, 2011

Play # 30!


20th May 2011

Have loved living through your NYC blogs but ...
... this one was definitely the winner of "Worst Blog Title Ever."
20th May 2011

Emily's last days...
The world is ending tomorrow...haven't you heard?
23rd May 2011

30 plays!!! Unbelievable!!! Nice work! Great pictures of you and Emily, love it! So fun that you got pictures with the firemen, ha ha :) I'm slowly catching up on all the blogs, I heard you're in Dallas now!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb